PDA

View Full Version : 15 XXX Box

Moocow16
03-16-2003, 06:09 PM
Since my dreams of getting 2 15k's was demolished, i've been in search of a new powerplant, and i think i've decided on a single 15" XXX. This being said, i will be in need of a good box for pure spl, and i can concoct a box for daily driving later. Since i have no experience with the XXX, I'm going by what you guys say and what RE says, so i hope you guys are right. As for space, i have plenty, although i would prefer to keep it below 6 cu. ft. any suggestions?

RMKrider1
03-16-2003, 06:58 PM
I've got one in a 5.5 ported box tuned to about 32 running off of a d2 right now and it sounds amazing. Just a suggestion ;)

nswartley
03-16-2003, 06:59 PM
Originally posted by Moocow16
Since my dreams of getting 2 15k's was demolished, i've been in search of a new powerplant, and i think i've decided on a single 15" XXX. This being said, i will be in need of a good box for pure spl, and i can concoct a box for daily driving later. Since i have no experience with the XXX, I'm going by what you guys say and what RE says, so i hope you guys are right. As for space, i have plenty, although i would prefer to keep it below 6 cu. ft. any suggestions?

well, i can tell you what snova will say ;) make the box as big as possible and tune it to the optimum frequency for massive SPL

i3abyjay25
03-16-2003, 07:04 PM
can a box be to big??

Moocow16
03-16-2003, 07:06 PM
i think so, if it gets big enough, might as well not even use a box and just use the car as the box.

RMKrider1
03-16-2003, 07:07 PM
Originally posted by i3abyjay25
can a box be to big??

Yup!!! I don't know for sure what "to big" would be but there is a cutoff point somewhere

i3abyjay25
03-16-2003, 07:08 PM
yeah thats what i thought, i was just readin some people say the bigger the better.. but eventually, it would be like not even haveing a box

nswartley
03-16-2003, 07:09 PM
Originally posted by RMKrider1