PDA

View Full Version : 2 18s in a geo



btlking
09-26-2007, 05:33 PM
i started my build today for 2 18s in my geo tracker. it will be around 14 cubic feet.

it will be subs up ports back. just wondering if instead of ordering aeros if i can use 4" pvc and if so how do i determin tuning im aiming for around 40hz

will get build picks soon

lilmaniac2
09-26-2007, 05:33 PM
why not build a wall?

btlking
09-26-2007, 05:34 PM
i will eventually but that wont happen until i get bigger 18s

jeremiah
09-26-2007, 05:39 PM
i started my build today for 2 18s in my geo tracker. it will be around 14 cubic feet.

it will be subs up ports back. just wondering if instead of ordering aeros if i can use 4" pvc and if so how do i determin tuning im aiming for around 40hz

will get build picks soon

if you yous 4"PVC I would yous 8 of them O and they would have to be about 9" long to be tuned to 40hz

SQBubble
09-26-2007, 05:40 PM
:needpics:

SQBubble
09-26-2007, 05:41 PM
make a big slot port, lot more **** IMO

btlking
09-26-2007, 05:41 PM
whats the easiest way to secure the pvc to the would?

should i paint the pvc?

btlking
09-26-2007, 05:42 PM
make a big slot port, lot more **** IMO

im sick of slot port want to try something else

shavenblazer
09-26-2007, 05:48 PM
im sick of slot port want to try something else

You called me a nood in one thread.But you dont even know how to tune aeros or 2 secure them. Quit being cheap and buy the flares for like $3 a pice and it will be alot easier.

OneKrazyKeebler
09-26-2007, 05:52 PM
Why not use 6" or 8" pvc? IMO thats too many 4" ports for that size box.

btlking
09-26-2007, 05:54 PM
Why not use 6" or 8" pvc? IMO thats too many 4" ports for that size box.

have some already i can buy bigger if need be

blong131
09-26-2007, 05:55 PM
secure themm with epoxy and braces

btlking
09-26-2007, 06:02 PM
secure themm with epoxy and braces

thats kind of what i was thinking thanks

SQBubble
09-26-2007, 06:09 PM
i'd do 2 10" , they sell big tubes in home depot, cut them and fiberglass it to the box, or do 1 12" roudn port... or 3 8", 6" are too small IMO...........................

btlking
09-26-2007, 06:18 PM
how big of 10"?

jeremiah
09-26-2007, 06:23 PM
^^ X2 you can get 8" 4ft.long for $6.50 all the way to 15"!!

SQBubble
09-26-2007, 06:23 PM
how big of 10"?

what do u mean?

btlking
09-26-2007, 06:24 PM
as in how long? ive never dealt with these types of ports so idk how to calculate it

SQBubble
09-26-2007, 06:26 PM
as in how long? ive never dealt with these types of ports so idk how to calculate it

its the same as slot port, just the surface area would be 5x5x3.1416 for 10" so around 78.5sq.inch for 1 10inch round port and use winisd to calculate how long...

SQBubble
09-26-2007, 06:28 PM
ok, so 14cu.ft NET @ 40hz with 2 10" port (157sq.inch). Each port has to be 11.5inch long , this should get VERY loud

btlking
09-26-2007, 06:30 PM
ok, so 14cu.ft NET @ 40hz with 2 10" port (157sq.inch). Each port has to be 11.5inch long , this should get VERY loud

thank you for not making me use winisd lol i think im off to pick up some pvc lol

btlking
09-26-2007, 06:30 PM
now i just have to wait for funds to order an amp

jeremiah
09-26-2007, 06:35 PM
what about 1 15" port? 10.29" long

btlking
09-26-2007, 06:38 PM
what about 1 15" port? 10.29" long

does home depot carry that big?

SQBubble
09-26-2007, 06:41 PM
does home depot carry that big?

i know they have up to 12", dunno about 15"

btlking
09-26-2007, 06:42 PM
well when i go there ill look and find out

this build will go on for a while as i am just building as i get bored not in any real hurry

jeremiah
09-26-2007, 07:02 PM
does home depot carry that big?

My home depot dos :yumyum:

btlking
09-26-2007, 07:03 PM
i hope to have it done besides carpet because i suk at it by the time the illinois meet goes on

iamamp3pimp
09-26-2007, 07:52 PM
ok

97cavy
09-26-2007, 07:53 PM
your not gaining anything over a slot port, hell, you might even be hurting your score with just using straight pvc.

The reason aeroports work is because of the flair...

I would have just made a slot port

btlking
09-26-2007, 11:30 PM
your not gaining anything over a slot port, hell, you might even be hurting your score with just using straight pvc.

The reason aeroports work is because of the flair...

I would have just made a slot port

not looking for a score this is just a daily after i get money to invest in some bigger 18s ill build a wall then ill worry about numbers

jeremiah
09-27-2007, 03:32 AM
what "bigger 18's"?? what 18's do you have now?

btlking
09-27-2007, 03:33 AM
what "bigger 18's"?? what 18's do you have now?

i ordered 2 18 mach 5s just to fool around with until i get some extra money

thinking about running 2 18" btls

iamamp3pimp
09-27-2007, 08:55 AM
eff

ill have 2 18 xxxs soon

btlking
09-27-2007, 11:59 AM
eff

ill have 2 18 xxxs soon

then let me have your old 18s;);););)

jeremiah
09-27-2007, 02:42 PM
is it a dd or for comps?

btlking
09-27-2007, 02:43 PM
is it a dd or for comps?

pure daily

mazdakid
09-27-2007, 06:09 PM
ill have my old xxx18 back next week. it probably needs a recone but ill sell it if your interested

btlking
09-27-2007, 06:11 PM
how much pm me

jeremiah
09-29-2007, 02:34 PM
pure daily

wall if it's just a DD than I would do 16cu.ft @18HZ b/c you would be the only one with a box like that and it will get soooo low you might die:rolleyes::):crazy:

jake760
09-29-2007, 04:44 PM
wall if it's just a DD than I would do 16cu.ft @18HZ b/c you would be the only one with a box like that and it will get soooo low you might die:rolleyes::):crazy:

Lol I would put that in my house for HT.:eek: anyways, I think a 15" round port would be sick.

btlking
10-01-2007, 11:49 AM
currently stopped building as im thinking of building a wall

iamamp3pimp
10-01-2007, 01:23 PM
wall if it's just a DD than I would do 16cu.ft @18HZ b/c you would be the only one with a box like that and it will get soooo low you might die:rolleyes::):crazy:

thats too low.

if he sends RMS to those subs they will bottom out like crazy

spoonraker
10-01-2007, 01:32 PM
Do two 12'' ports you'll get close to 18 square inches of port area per cubic foot that way.

One Bad MOFO
10-02-2007, 02:47 AM
i hope to have it done besides carpet because i suk at it by the time the illinois meet goes on

lmmfao!!! this i another one of your funnier threads...