PDA

View Full Version : Nailguns

Gunlex
09-21-2007, 03:42 PM
We have a nice nail gun, I was planning on using it rather than screws, is there anything that i need to be carful of? Is there any chance of spliting/cracking?

All advice appritiated, this is my first build!

Thanks,
G

DBfan187
09-21-2007, 03:45 PM
brad-nailers are awesome and time saving!

PV Audio
09-21-2007, 03:47 PM
Cheap *****s are awesome and time-saving as well :naughty:

Gunlex
09-21-2007, 04:00 PM
so it's all good then? no worries about cracking or spliting?

Goldtaz1
09-21-2007, 04:02 PM
We have a nice nail gun, I was planning on using it rather than screws, is there anything that i need to be carful of? Is there any chance of spliting/cracking?

Thanks,
G

Nail guns are your friend. I've always been a huge advocate of using a brad nailer over screws. I always laugh when I see how long it takes people on this forum to build a box from start to finish using screws and whatnot. Trust me when I say you have nothing to worry about with the nail gun other than simply running out of nails. LOL!

BTW, my nail gun and compressor combo cost a grand total of $150 bucks so for anyone that was going to chime in with the "some of us can't afford" statement, I call B.S.

Gunlex
09-21-2007, 04:09 PM
my dad used to build houses, and his shop is as big as our house; so his stuff is as good as it gets :D

mlstrass
09-21-2007, 04:43 PM
I have one and have used it for a few builds, but still like the screw method for most builds.

As long as you shoot them straight you'll be fine....

Mr Cabinetry
09-21-2007, 05:14 PM
Ever since I started building enclosure's, Brad Air nailers is all I ever used.

I will use screws to assemble certain parts of enclosure to keep the joint tight ( mitered parts ).

Best Advise - Use an 18 Gauge Brad Nailer, 16 Gauge brads tend to cause the mdf to split more easily.

Put your spacing at 4" between nails.