PDA

View Full Version : displacement of a 12" Brahma



jinx8402
03-14-2003, 10:46 PM
anybody know what the displacement of a 12" brahma is? we're in the middle of designing a box for my brother who is about to order a brahma. he will be sending 1000 watts to it, and we just want to make sure we have the exact size. also, what would the ideal size be for a sealed box, because on Adire's site it only lists 900 watts and 1300 watts. thanks for any help guys.

nswartley
03-14-2003, 10:50 PM
Originally posted by jinx8402
anybody know what the displacement of a 12" brahma is? we're in the middle of designing a box for my brother who is about to order a brahma. he will be sending 1000 watts to it, and we just want to make sure we have the exact size. also, what would the ideal size be for a sealed box, because on Adire's site it only lists 900 watts and 1300 watts. thanks for any help guys.

just make it a tad bigger than the 900watt size.....with a sealed you wont see a huge difference

Anh
03-14-2003, 10:53 PM
Originally posted by jinx8402
anybody know what the displacement of a 12" brahma is? we're in the middle of designing a box for my brother who is about to order a brahma. he will be sending 1000 watts to it, and we just want to make sure we have the exact size. also, what would the ideal size be for a sealed box, because on Adire's site it only lists 900 watts and 1300 watts. thanks for any help guys.

Displacement, the exact volume of the driver (is that what you mean?) or is this the actual displacement of the cone area x excursion?

If you cant find the manufacturer figures, then you just need to make a rough calculation of the diamensions of the driver. You can get the area of the magnet x height of magnet, add that to the area of cone x distance between the behind of the mount and the front of the magnet, you'll be few cubic inches off, but not enough to cause mis-tuning.

mamey69
03-14-2003, 11:12 PM
Originally posted by nswartley
just make it a tad bigger than the 900watt size.....with a sealed you wont see a huge difference

doesn´t have to be a little smaller? because is more power.....

nswartley
03-15-2003, 01:56 AM
Originally posted by mamey69
doesn´t have to be a little smaller? because is more power.....

edit....my bad.....