PDA

View Full Version : is it necessary?



Mongojerry36
09-20-2007, 09:33 PM
Hey,
I am gonna get a single alpine type r and a 1000w amp for my 2001 toyota avalon. Now i have talked to several people and i cannot seam to get the right answer.

Is a headunit necessary with an aftermarket headunit?

People at Tweeter and a local audio store said that i dont need one, but people at Circuit city and Best buy told me that it is necessary because the factory radio cant push the all the power. I jus dont know what to believe

Can anyone clarify??
Thanks

azbass
09-20-2007, 09:34 PM
why would you need a headunit, with an aftermarket headunit?

dvrmstrng
09-20-2007, 09:35 PM
LOC = line out converter...you can use your stock HU....

1. people are best buy and CC are silly
2. you WILL get a cleaner signal with an aftermarket HU

andytb
09-20-2007, 09:38 PM
im running 700 watt of stock headunit to loc

Mongojerry36
09-20-2007, 09:39 PM
what i meant to say was...Is an aftermarket headunit necessary with an aftermarket subwoofer? sorry...

starkfu
09-20-2007, 09:47 PM
NO. Bet definately a better option.

get an adjustable LOC and grab the signal before the factory amp. (most avalons have them, under passenger seat IIRC)

Mongojerry36
09-20-2007, 10:05 PM
ok and if i get the LOC will i be able to get the most power possible from the type r's??

starkfu
09-20-2007, 11:31 PM
no, an aftermarket HU will make them sound much much better.

but by getting an adjustable (not all LOC's are adjustable) LOC - you can boost the signal a little bit and get more out of them.

Prowler573
09-20-2007, 11:34 PM
im running 700 watt of stock headunit to loc
I'm seriously doubting your OEM HU has anywhere near 700w worth of output :fyi:

mlstrass
09-21-2007, 03:56 AM
Summary: you can make it work off the stock HU, but aftermarket would be better and give you more control over the sub, so it should sound better.