PDA

View Full Version : port



kbjt
03-13-2003, 12:29 PM
does it make a big diffrence if i was to put the pipe in the port hole????:confused: :confused: :confused:

ss3079
03-13-2003, 06:36 PM
Do you mean a round port with pipe?

- Steve

kbjt
03-13-2003, 06:58 PM
ya

ss3079
03-13-2003, 08:30 PM
The length will help determine what the box is tuned to...

And where in B.C. are you?

- Steve

kbjt
03-13-2003, 08:49 PM
i live in quenel and you.....and does the pipe make it louder??

ss3079
03-13-2003, 08:53 PM
Im in the Kootenay's.

Without the pipe, you box may be tuned to 40hz. With the pipe, it can vary from x to y hz. Because you can adjust the lengths. You would need an SPL meter to tell you what the loudest you can go is based on the length of the port.

- Steve

kbjt
03-13-2003, 08:55 PM
where do i get a spl meter????

ss3079
03-13-2003, 08:57 PM
I suggest trying your local shop...they should understand what you mean and be willing to help you out.

SPL meter's can range from $10 - $1000's.

- Steve

kbjt
03-13-2003, 09:00 PM
COOL thanx u:D :D :D :cool:

ridered36
03-13-2003, 11:04 PM
if you go measure form the front of your windhsield to your trunk wall right behind your seats and then tell me that number in feet, i can help you out.

Anh
03-14-2003, 10:36 PM
Originally posted by kbjt
i live in quenel and you.....and does the pipe make it louder??

Any cavity - be this a tube shaped or a rectangular will make the frequency you want to be 3dB louder at the most.

The desired frequency depends not JUST on the length of the port, but it is the relation between length, the port area (the size of the hole), AND the volume of the port AND the net volume of the box you are using (cubic inches).

Yes, I'm afraid you need to do some number crunching, otherwise you will just gamble between getting something vaguely more louder or serious mis-tuning of your subs.

I learned that the hard way with my Alpine 12