PDA

View Full Version : ported or sealed



mjjstang
03-12-2003, 09:47 PM
For my Brahma would you guys suggest ported or sealed. I want as much spl as I can get but I dont want to lose all the SQ. I know the brahma Is a pretty good sq and spl sub so will It still retain a good amount of SQ in a ported box. Its for a daily driver.

Patthepimp85
03-12-2003, 10:04 PM
I would say ported because the sound quality will be much better. But thats just my opinion.

mgaidica
03-12-2003, 10:21 PM
PORTED. I just see that thing ported all a lot and people say it still maintains its SQ. Patthepimp- "i would say ported because the sound quality will be much better", that would be sealed.

sealed box - SQ
ported box - SPL

mjjstang
03-12-2003, 11:53 PM
yah pat get your $hit straight

ramos
03-13-2003, 09:24 AM
How much power ? if you have enough power the brahma in a sealed box can be lethal. :evil: If you don't have the power then I would go ported. :)

mjjstang
03-13-2003, 10:21 AM
The power is coming from a Visonik 1000 watt 4 channel amp but I found out that It is not a good idea to bridge it from 4 to one channel so I guess I only have 500 watts max to give the brahma which is only like 250 RMS so I dont have much power. Is this true that I shouldnt bridge the 4 channel to 1.

jbl_marshall21
03-13-2003, 10:26 AM
boy o boy. u need a new amp. 250 for a brahma 10 or 12? not good. u need a new amp. this could probaly work for just a short term but if u have some cash get a new amp. go ported, if u tune it low u still get some good sq.

ramos
03-13-2003, 10:59 AM
Yeah t's not a good idea to attempt to bridge 4 channels to one. Most amps don't like, and can't handle it. You don't have very much power. So I would say go ported. You won't be pushing the sub very hard at all. But you will get a little bump, not much but a little. :)