PDA

View Full Version : Polk DB691 or Kicker 055KS693 for replacing stock speakers.

Remedial
09-12-2007, 01:42 PM
Newbie here. I'm on the market to purchase some speakers to replace my stock speakers in my 2007 Toyota Camry LE. My main gripes about my current speakers are that the vocals seem to be very indistinguishable sometimes and the soundstage leaves a lot to be desired. Also, the bass can get very muddy and the midrange is very prominent. Right now I just want to replace the speakers especially because one of the cones in the rear appears to be torn or something of that nature, giving off a very distorted sound sometimes. I eventually plan to replace the head unit and the amp, but just want to deal with the speakers for now.

So, to that end, I was looking at both the Polk DB691, http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Polk-6-x-9-Speakers-DB691/sem/rpsm/oid/174707/catOid/-13092/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

and the Kicker 055KS693:
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Kicker-6-x-9-3-way-Speakers-055KS693/sem/rpsm/oid/132001/catOid/-13092/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

Both of which are available at Circuit City for pickup today, which is my birthday, and seem to have good reviews. Also, the buy one get one half off will allow me to change both my front door and rear speakers at once. Finally, I hate ordering because I detest the wait, but would be willing to sacrifice if there are some speakers that are better than either of these two for a little less or the same price and deal.

I would like to know you guys' opinion on either of these. I plan to just buy the Polks but probably won't be installing them until tomorrow, so, if a flood of yays for the Kickers come in, I'll just return the Polks for those.