PDA

View Full Version : New sub help on ported box



shotime0123
09-11-2007, 12:37 AM
Hey i just got this sub and i need to build a box to put it in. the box will be going in the back of a 96 civic 4dr. I am looking to make this a ported box to get all i can out of the sub but also to leave some trunk space. here are the specs on the sub that were provided to me.

1 New Cadence Wild Beast 102 Subwoofer
10” Long Throw Subwoofer
1200 Watts Power Handling
600 Watts RMS Power Handling
Orange CCT Kevlar/ Nomex/ Pulp Composite Cone
Oversize 2” Butyl Rubber Surround
Custom Molded Wildbeast Dust Cap
2.5” Four Layer Voice Coil
2 Ohm Voice Coil Impedence
Extended and Vented Motor Structure
Massive 10mm Chrome Washer and Vented Backplate
Magnet Surrounded By Chrome Mesh Helix
Diamond Cutting CNC Heavy Duty, Cast Aluminum Basket
One Piece Extended Pole Piece Technology
Dual Strand Nomex, Linear Progressive Spider
Frequency Response: 20hz-500hz
Double Stacked 120 oz. Magnets
Sensitivity: 93db 1 Watt/ 1 Meter
X-Max 1.18” Peak-to-Peak
Mounting Depth: 7”
Manufacturers’ Suggested Retail: $299.99
1 Year Warranty

i am a carpenter but this is my first box im building and as long as you tell me what size mdf will be best also the dimensions that will be best for the sub and the dimension for the port it would be greatly appreciated. any other info needed just ask. thanks for the help.

~Eric~

SOUND=VIBRATION
09-11-2007, 12:58 AM
3/4 mdf should do da trick.... but i am not to good with ports ehh.. sorry make sure every crack is caulked.. good luck

hazardous0388
09-11-2007, 01:07 AM
do 1.25 cu ft tuned to 35 hz. should sound good. Use the re box builder on www.reaudio.com

Others might not agree with the 35 hz tuning, but thats my preference, and for your purpose theres no use in tuning higher or lower.

shotime0123
09-11-2007, 05:05 PM
ok. yea all i want to do is build the ported box for spl. i dont understand what is the 1.25 and the 35hz? lol someone wanna give me a quick rundown?

shotime0123
09-11-2007, 05:16 PM
http://www.cadencestore.com/cadence_manuals/WILDBEAST%20COMPETITION%20BOX%20CHARTS.pdf here are the only charts i could find what does each change? could someone explain what the volume and hz changes???

Immacomputer
09-11-2007, 06:12 PM
Since you didn't give max dimensions, here is a design I had sitting around that should work well for that sub:
http://i3.tinypic.com/6d1w214.png
http://i19.tinypic.com/4mkejpf.png

It's 1.5 cubes tuned to 31hz. It should give the sub a nice sound and strong low end. It should be loud but not too boomy.

bdawson72
09-11-2007, 06:13 PM
Since you didn't give max dimensions, here is a design I had sitting around that should work well for that sub:
http://i3.tinypic.com/6d1w214.png
http://i19.tinypic.com/4mkejpf.png

It's 1.5 cubes tuned to 31hz. It should give the sub a nice sound and strong low end. It should be loud but not too boomy.


Havent seen you around in a while

shotime0123
09-11-2007, 06:31 PM
ok hmm seems like a good size...do u think the sub will play down that low at 31hz? thanks man i think ill try this box ill let you know how it works

Immacomputer
09-11-2007, 08:37 PM
That sub should not struggle playing down to 25hz let alone, 31hz.

shotime0123
09-16-2007, 05:18 PM
1 last question do i just cut a hole in the back to put in one of the blocks with the + and - terminal or do i just drill a small hole and run the wire through that??? my box is done i just need to know this...thanks.

edit im talking about either running a direct wire from sub through the box into the amp or from the sub to the terminal block then from that to the amp??? im not sure if it will work properly in the ported box if i cut in the block???

Immacomputer
09-16-2007, 07:43 PM
You can use a terminal block, a small hole (caulk it up after you run wires through it), nuts and bolts, or even run the wire through the port (ghetto) as long as you keep the area air tight.

Radio shack has terminals that work really well and are relatively cheap. I usually use them because it's quick and easy:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2102834&cp=2032058&f=Taxonomy%2FRSK%2F2032058&categoryId=2032058&kwCatId=2032058&kw=terminal&parentPage=search

shotime0123
09-17-2007, 12:41 AM
k cool thanks i just picked one up i was iffy about the ability to use them on a ported box i wasnt sure if it would mess with anything so thanks for answering that.

shotime0123
09-17-2007, 07:30 AM
where would be the best spot to put this terminal? left side or back left?

Immacomputer
09-17-2007, 09:07 AM
Wherever is the most convenient for you.