PDA

View Full Version : Hello from southern IN

justjeff
08-24-2007, 01:41 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forums, but I've been around car and home electronics for a while. Most anything I know about car audio has been self-taught, just cause I'm a DIY type person. I've installed my own system in a few different cars I've owned over the years. I'm just learning to use fiberglass resins. I haven't wanted to pay a shop $400+ for an enclosure when the materials are less than $40...or so.

I've got an 89 RX-7 Convertible which last winter I had AIM tuning in Indy convert into a JDM T2 with an engine I imported. I did a complete conversion, with a T2 tranny, drivetrain, LSD and half shafts. Oh and the T2 hood to accomodate the OEM intercooler. I just blew the top off the radiator and was fortunate enough to find a low mile Koyo radiator from a racecar getting parted out. I've got an Eclipse 5425, Boston Pro 6.5's in the doors. Boston Pro 4" mids under the dash. A Boston Pro 2ohm 8 waiting for me to build a custom enclosure. a JL 300/2 is pushing the 6.5, an Alpine somethingoranother that came with the car is pushing the 4" mids and the headrest speakers (gain turned way down and I use the Eclipse fader control to turn headrests on and off). Then I've got a Zapco Studio-somethingoranother that will push the Boston 8. Also I'm using a 1 farad capacitor.