PDA

View Full Version : First Ported Box Build ***Pics***



jdeaton
08-15-2007, 08:35 PM
Well ive been working on my first ported box yesterday and the day before. Its 2.2 cubes tuned to 31hz. I used a can of bedliner on it and it just looked like **** so im going to carpet it. I have it sitting where one of the rear seats used to be in my truck directly behind the drivers seet. Port is on the bottom facing the drivers seat and the sub is firing up. I did the whole box with only 2 corner clamps... i ordered 2 bar clamps on amazon but they didnt work... wouldnt hold at all... when id squeeze the trigger ti would tighten but when id let go it would loose all tension... pieces of crap. Here's some pics :

the tools:

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i264/jdeaton1090/backseat003.jpg

I did lots and lots of cutting... used a whole 4x8 for the box.... lots of scraps lol

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i264/jdeaton1090/backseat001-1.jpg

And the wood for the box

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i264/jdeaton1090/backseat002-1.jpg

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i264/jdeaton1090/backseat004.jpg

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i264/jdeaton1090/backseat005.jpg

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i264/jdeaton1090/backseat007.jpg

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i264/jdeaton1090/backseat008.jpg

jellyfish420
08-16-2007, 01:34 AM
i think you forgot to cut a hole for the sub ;)
don't look bad.

type[s5]
08-16-2007, 01:53 AM
i think you forgot to cut a hole for the sub ;)
don't look bad.

hehe x2. Not bad though. I'm on my way to finishing my first build, myself. How are you gonna cut out a hole for the sub?

jdeaton
08-16-2007, 01:57 AM
cut the hole this morning and put the tc9 in... I just drilled a half inch hole and stuck the jigsaw in it... the hole isnt very even though. I got it hooked up to my zx300.1 and its sooooo much louder and cleaner sounding than my old 10" sealed cvr. Cant wait till the kenwood kac-9102d comes in

I already want to build another box lol its addicting. Im gonna use my dads nail gun for the next one though.

dleccord
08-16-2007, 02:03 AM
man you're good; i've never even gotten to using a 1/2" drive ratchet for box building.

jdeaton
08-16-2007, 02:11 AM
man you're good; i've never even gotten to using a 1/2" drive ratchet for box building.

LOL i was using it to hammer a screwdriver to hammer the piece of wood in the bottom of the port out (cut it to exactly 1.5" to make sure the port was straight.)... I didnt have a hammer with me lol i just had the tools i brought and my toolbox i take to the motocross track... i built it at my grandmas because its a lot easier to do it in a garage than a apartment parkinglot

80INCHES
08-16-2007, 02:13 AM
how big is this box?

80

jdeaton
08-16-2007, 02:23 AM
2.2cubes...

traksta15
08-16-2007, 03:02 AM
Looks pretty good man

Dingleberry
08-16-2007, 04:37 AM
These clamps are decent. Here (http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=34388) They're real good for the price,
and the tension is strong enough to make dents on the boards.

jellyfish420
08-16-2007, 07:23 AM
what do you need a hammer OR a 1/2" rachet for when building a box?

Immacomputer
08-16-2007, 07:46 AM
It's always been easier for me to cut out my sub holes after the enclosure has been built.

Looks pretty good for your first ported enclosure.

jdeaton
08-16-2007, 11:28 AM
what do you need a hammer OR a 1/2" rachet for when building a box?

already explained that...