PDA

View Full Version : hooking up solo-baric 12's



newyorkjets00
08-13-2007, 11:55 PM
ok so my friend got 2 of these there the L5 12's...
we tried alot of ways to hook these up but nothing is working except when u hook one up and bridge it... we are using a 4ch/2ch mtx amp its 800 watts i belive.

here is how we had them at first as kicker site says to..

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d105/newyorkjets00/subs.jpg

danp129
08-14-2007, 12:30 AM
I see a pick of two 2ohm DVC subs. Each wired in parallel (1ohm) then hooked up in parallel to the amp (.5ohm). Perhaps that's why it doesn't work?

They prolly ment to show a pick of wiring each sub in series and then hooking them up to the amp in parallel (for 2ohm load).

Click here (http://www.crutchfield.com/learningcenter/car/subwoofers_wiring.html) for some wiring diagrams.

danp129
08-14-2007, 12:40 AM
Also, use 12 awg wire if you run a single wire to the subs and parallel them in the box like the kicker pic showed. Or you could use 14 awg if you run a separate wire to each sub from the amp.

newyorkjets00
08-14-2007, 01:44 AM
im pretty sure the amp is shot or not powerful enough for them..

danp129
08-14-2007, 03:35 AM
Did you smell smoke? .5 ohm load is pretty big load for a 4 channel amp bridged.

You need to wire each speaker in series to make each sub a 4 ohm load, then put one sub on each channel of the amp (bridged to 2ch).

If the amp is fried, find a good mono amp that puts out it's highest RMS at 2ohm load. Wire the coils in series and run them parallel to the amp.

danp129
08-14-2007, 04:41 PM
if that pic is wrong how are you saying to wire them? could you send me a link to wire them up right..

http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/ca/learningcenter/car/subwoofer_wiring/2DVC_2-ohm_4ch.jpg

newyorkjets00
08-14-2007, 06:44 PM
yah i tried it like that.. im pretty sure the amp isnt powerful enough.
My buddy has a old school rockford fosgate punch amp im gona try on it today.
its 360 watts rms bridged at 4ohms.. or
180 watts rms x 2 ar 2 ohms

whopping 486watts in a mono load

Here is the amp.. how should i wire those 2 l5s to this amp?
http://www.epinions.com/content_67459059332?linkin_id=8003929

newyorkjets00
08-14-2007, 08:01 PM
could the mods move this over to wiring please?

danp129
08-15-2007, 04:06 AM
You'll have to use the example above for that amp as well. The Punch 360.2 does not say it is 1ohm stable per channel, nor 2 ohm stable bridged. It would however push 1 sub @ 4ohm bridged.