PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer Premier same as Normal???



hollowpoint
08-07-2007, 08:00 PM
I was just doing a comparison on the Pioneer DEH-P3900MP vs. Pioneer Premier DEH-P390MP. The comparison between both were exactly the same. I was told before that the Premier has more options and features. Is that true? If so what are the advantages? There the same price at sonicelectronix and by human nature youll go with the premier with this case but what makes them different?

sdmtnbiker420
08-07-2007, 09:53 PM
One difference of that particular model (390 vs 3900) is that the Premiere has a built in two-way crossover with direct subwoofer key


Also, Premier factory warranty is 2 years while Pioneer is only 1. They must be built better?


I don't know. I've never had a problem with Pioneer. Great company.

hollowpoint
08-08-2007, 06:53 PM
One difference of that particular model (390 vs 3900) is that the Premiere has a built in two-way crossover with direct subwoofer key


Also, Premier factory warranty is 2 years while Pioneer is only 1. They must be built better?


I don't know. I've never had a problem with Pioneer. Great company.

hmmm Yeah Ive heard good things abot Pioneer but they were the same price which made me wonder what was so different. Could you explain just how the two-way crossover with direct subwoofer key exactly does. I think I know but now not totally sure.

sdmtnbiker420
08-08-2007, 07:07 PM
Its a built in high pass filter, and full subwoofer control.

Prowler573
08-08-2007, 07:09 PM
Premiers carry a better warranty and will more often than not have a higher RCA preamp output voltage than their 'regular' Pioneer counterparts.

squeak9798
08-08-2007, 07:15 PM
Only differences I could find from comparing features were slight cosmetic differences (color of outer trim) and the Premier featuring a 2-year warranty.

According to the "specifications" page, they both offer identical crossovers and preamp voltage/impedance.

bchandler
08-08-2007, 07:22 PM
Like prowler said, the difference between similar models is usually pre-out voltage and double the warranty.

hollowpoint
08-08-2007, 08:21 PM
OK, cool, last question, how will the pre-out voltage help in or be better between the two? Thanks for the help

Team OSC SVT
08-08-2007, 08:29 PM
Higher the voltage the more efficient your amp is going to be and the better sound you will get from not having to crank your amp up

hollowpoint
08-08-2007, 08:46 PM
Higher the voltage the more efficient your amp is going to be and the better sound you will get from not having to crank your amp up


OK cool pretty much what I was thinking...In conclusion would the premier be a good starter headunit for someone?

black_sedan
08-08-2007, 09:06 PM
now your questions are becoming silly. Just buy it

dvrmstrng
08-08-2007, 09:10 PM
hey where you at in jersey?

THUMPPER
08-08-2007, 09:19 PM
the Premeir models also have the 24 bitt Burr Brown D/A
converters in them...
Burr Browns produce much better SQ than the standard D/A's

hollowpoint
08-08-2007, 09:27 PM
now your questions are becoming silly. Just buy it

I dont see why, just trying to understand everything, but whatever


hey where you at in jersey?

Northern Hunterdon county area


the Premeir models also have the 24 bitt Burr Brown D/A
converters in them...
Burr Browns produce much better SQ than the standard D/A's

I dont know what the 24 bitt Burr Brown D/A does but if it makes better SQ than thats even better. Is the 24 bitt like bit rate with songs but the processor in the headunit?

btnhfan
08-08-2007, 11:11 PM
the Premeir models also have the 24 bitt Burr Brown D/A
converters in them...
Burr Browns produce much better SQ than the standard D/A's

All the premeirs do?

I did not know that. Very cool.

squeak9798
08-08-2007, 11:40 PM
Burr Browns produce much better SQ than the standard D/A's

It's not quite that simple.


OK, cool, last question, how will the pre-out voltage help in or be better between the two? Thanks for the help

As I stated, according to the specifications page aswell as the owner's manuals they have identical preamplifier specs (voltage and impedance). So there is no difference there.

Fixxer
08-09-2007, 04:11 AM
Only the 880, 980, and 9800 have 24 Bit Burr Brown D/A's.


the Premeir models also have the 24 bitt Burr Brown D/A
converters in them...
Burr Browns produce much better SQ than the standard D/A's

hollowpoint
08-09-2007, 05:55 PM
What does the 24 Bitt Burr Brown thing do?

squeak9798
08-09-2007, 07:29 PM
Burr Brown is a company that manufacturers IC's and other electronic devices (such as DAC's).

24-bit is the resolution of the DAC. It just tells you a little bit (no pun intended :p: ) about how the DAC goes about converting the digital signal to an analog signal.

Really; It's all overhyped.

Burr Brown is a good company that makes solid products. But having a "Burr Brown" DAC (or opamp, or anything else for that matter) doesn't automatically make it "sound better". And being 24-bit won't automatically "sound better" either.

For one; Burr Brown makes some 24-bit DAC's that are cheap enough that literally any product, even low-end Jensen type products, could use them. Secondly a DAC is only as good as it's supporting design.....a good DAC implemented into a poor design will have poor performance regardless of brand name or bit resolution. And even then they all have their advantages and disadvantages. There's no "perfect" way to do things.

In short; I'd never choose product A over product B based solely on product A having a 24-bit Burr Brown DAC and product B utilizing a different brand's 1-bit DAC.

hollowpoint
08-09-2007, 08:52 PM
Ohhh alright, but is that Preimer 3900 a good starter headunit in general now? I heard it was from a couple of ppl?

and thanks for the help all

Mustang01
08-10-2007, 04:12 AM
I just upgraded from the Premier to a Clarion. The unit is very nice, when I got mine, I believe the main difference was the warranty.

NoRiceForMe
08-12-2007, 07:37 PM
Only the 880, 980, and 9800 have 24 Bit Burr Brown D/A's.

You forgot the 780, the p8mp, and the 860. Not a big deal, but that previous quote of that guy saying that all premier's have 24-bit DAC's made me respond.

Justin89T
08-12-2007, 11:07 PM
the new premier also comes with the ipod cable. Normal doesn't.