PDA

View Full Version : is this right? box specs



kirilogan
08-07-2007, 01:45 AM
i need to make a box thats about 1.1cuft (from box size calculators)
and i want to make the went 12" by 2" and after running this through one of those port length calculators i get 50" (around) seems kind of much... so i'm wondering if thats right? when i make the box... the volume of the box is seperate from the vent right ex.
http://pixiqdesign.com/subbox.jpg
so the blue part is supposed to be 1.1cuft right? and not the WHOLE box?

sorry about the ugly picture:D
thank you:D

######Added: and should i tune at 28? 30? 32?

DeViOuSoNe
08-07-2007, 01:51 AM
What calculator did you use?

kirilogan
08-07-2007, 01:56 AM
WinISD program to get the specs and stuff of the box told me i need 1.1cuft and it told me to use 4.xx diameter vent with length of 33ish... so i changed it to a rectangular vent with dimentions 2"by12" and it said i need around 50" length


my sub has an xmax of 13.87mm
http://www.carstereo.com/help2/Articles.cfm?id=31 this one to re-check it and it said the same thing

Trixter
08-07-2007, 10:47 AM
your dealing with a small box...and the more port area you go with the longer it will be.

for 33hz you can do 1.5 x 12 for the port and make it 37" long....a little better. and if you do that and go up to 1.5cu' you can make it 26" long....

kirilogan
08-07-2007, 02:51 PM
thank you it makes sense now
i want to stick with a 1.0cu box cause it supposedly gives the best performace for my sub thank you:D

AK SloPok
08-07-2007, 03:06 PM
What sub is this for? Looks like a 12"? Make sure that the end of your port is not blocked as shown in the picture.

kirilogan
08-07-2007, 03:13 PM
its for a 10" alpine type r