PDA

View Full Version : Pro60s - should i go active?



fatryan
07-31-2007, 03:15 PM
the nominal impedance of pro60s is 3ohm. my xtr 500.4 will be bridged to 250w x 2 @ 4ohm. of course ill have the gains low, but i dont know if i want to be running 3ohms on a bridged channel. so i have the option of going active, but id need to know the resistance of the tweets and woofers. BA's site doesnt have it listed. anyone know?

HCCA
07-31-2007, 10:22 PM
The impedance of the tweeters for the Pro60's is 8 ohms.

thefunkybunch
07-31-2007, 11:09 PM
obviously in your situation, i'd recommend bridging them through the passives and feed them some power, but if your'e wanting to bi-amp them, i'd just bi-amp them using the passive crossovers if that's what you're looking to do. there's more in boston's crossovers than just cutting out frequencies that they don't want that particular driver to see. it has phasing corrections (which is part of what the SQ1/SQ2 switch applies to), smoothes out some nasty peaks with the AMD tweeter system, has the tweeter protection, etc built into them. even when i had my Z's, i bi-amped them through the passive crossovers. to make them sound any better crossing them over actively than they sound with the passive xovers, you'd have to have some pretty serious EQ/processing ability. the only time i'd recommend going active is either with a DIY setup, or if your components come with some seriously cheesy crossovers, as i've seen on some of the older dynaudios. nowdays most of the higher end manufacturers are actually putting quite a bit of R&D into building the crossovers than they used to.

HCCA
07-31-2007, 11:56 PM
obviously in your situation, i'd recommend bridging them through the passives and feed them some power, but if your'e wanting to bi-amp them, i'd just bi-amp them using the passive crossovers if that's what you're looking to do. there's more in boston's crossovers than just cutting out frequencies that they don't want that particular driver to see. it has phasing corrections (which is part of what the SQ1/SQ2 switch applies to), smoothes out some nasty peaks with the AMD tweeter system, has the tweeter protection, etc built into them. even when i had my Z's, i bi-amped them through the passive crossovers. to make them sound any better crossing them over actively than they sound with the passive xovers, you'd have to have some pretty serious EQ/processing ability. the only time i'd recommend going active is either with a DIY setup, or if your components come with some seriously cheesy crossovers, as i've seen on some of the older dynaudios. nowdays most of the higher end manufacturers are actually putting quite a bit of R&D into building the crossovers than they used to.

X2!

fatryan
08-01-2007, 12:03 AM
sweet, thanx for the help. and with 8ohm tweets, its def outta the Q anyways. so you think itll be safe running my xtr 500.4 down to 3ohm bridged? gains will be very low (set to around 200w/channel)