PDA

View Full Version : should i grab a toshiba hd-a2 hd dvd?



bamaboy
07-28-2007, 06:31 PM
well i use my 360 for dvds and lately it been freezing and artifacts would run through the screen, i have to turn it on and off a few times to get it to play, last night the 3 red rings came on, so its on its grave, but i did unplug and it came back on right, so its retarded

but i just want to be able to watch dvds in peace

but circuit city has the toshiba hd-a2 for 238, but ive seen some coupons to add too, and you get 5 free dvds

but i dont want to buy many hd dvds because they are expensive, but netflix does have them to rent, and he upconverts regular dvd

i want it but 250$ is alot

i might just buy a cheap hd upconvert dvd player and be done with it for 50$

bds0688
07-28-2007, 06:39 PM
Do you have a TV that will run 1080p, or other high resolutions?

If I had the money, and given the good arguments on your side, go for it.

docutech
07-28-2007, 06:40 PM
i might just buy a cheap hd upconvert dvd player and be done with it for 50$


Just remember, you get what you pay for.

I wouldn't shell out 250 smacks just yet for a HD player. What if Blu Ray prevails?

If you are wanting to spend 250 dollars, get an Oppo 981HD upconvert dvd player.

Oh and Xbox HD DVD sux. :crap:

1loudsuv
07-28-2007, 06:46 PM
Just remember, you get what you pay for.
To bad the a2 does about everything minus the 1080p output that $500++ players and it is a finalized spec player, NO blu ray player is finalized till after october.... but the ps3 might be able to play those features but no one knows for sure.



I wouldn't shell out 250 smacks just yet for a HD player. What if Blu Ray prevails?



Yah its kind of iffy right now whos gonna win, but whoever prevails it doesn't matter especially with HD DVD cuase it is an awesome upconverting dvd player. and cost's less (you get 5 free movies with the hd-a2)

2kchevy06civic
07-28-2007, 06:48 PM
Personally I would just buy a dvd player that upconverts right now until the war is over. Unless you want to actually shell out a lot of money for the LG player that plays both HD and blue ray disks.

bamaboy
07-28-2007, 07:05 PM
well xbox wont leave me alone, one minute it will play the next it does the 3 red rings

i want an 360 elite :(


how is the upconversion for the hd-a2?

how long before the format war is over, just for me i dont see what blu-ray has besides the ps3

Rich B
07-28-2007, 07:12 PM
Microsoft cuts price of Xbox 360 HD-DVD Player
Illustration
Matt Martin 13:20 (BST) 26/07/2007

Drops price to USD 179, offers 5 movies free

Microsoft has cut the price of the Xbox 360 HD-DVD player in North America and is offering five free titles for the peripheral for USD 179.

However, Microsoft Europe has told GamesIndustry.biz that there are currently no plans for a similar price cut for the movie player in the UK.

US consumers will be able to pick up the HD-DVD player at the reduced price from August, with Toshiba offering five titles for free through a special promotion running until the end of September.

"With the price reduction to USD 179, the Xbox 360 HD-DVD Player continues to be the most affordable way to enjoy high definition," said Jeff Bell, corporate vice president of global marketing at Microsoft

Microsoft is also offering new Xbox Live Marketplace content in the form of a free episode of hit TV series Heroes and exclusive content for Warner Bros. movie 300.

bamaboy
07-28-2007, 07:26 PM
well im about to send the 360back in for repair so i need something to watch now

and i would rather have a seperate unit

1loudsuv
07-28-2007, 09:04 PM
i want an 360 elite :(


how is the upconversion for the hd-a2?


They say its on par with the oppo, and in my experience its the best upconversion player I have used.

The war wont be over for a long time. You do remember the vhs vs beta and sony didnt give up till like 8 years later.

bamaboy
07-29-2007, 02:51 AM
well priced matched at best buy for CC price, had some reward points, so i with tax and all it was 219$ i think, im going to try out netflix for the hd dvd rentals and see how that goes

ill try out some regular dvds too

http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/6047/img006gb0.jpg

the 360s rings...

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/4646/img005bd2.jpg

1loudsuv
07-29-2007, 03:49 AM
heres a list of movies in terms of picture quality goes...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=856119

1loudsuv
07-29-2007, 03:52 AM
Oh yah I dunno what kind of receiver or sound setup you got but IMO the sound is also a big improvement with truehd tracks, today I was watching the matrix revolutions and omfg it was incredible....I have watched it a couple of times though lol

bamaboy
07-29-2007, 03:38 PM
do you have both hd dvd and blu ray?

i was just looking and blu-ray did have some better titles, but im not paying 30$ a movie any way

DBfan187
07-29-2007, 04:44 PM
Hd-dvd Ftw!

1loudsuv
07-29-2007, 04:59 PM
do you have both hd dvd and blu ray?

i was just looking and blu-ray did have some better titles, but im not paying 30$ a movie any way

Yes I have both, I have the a2 right now and a ps3. But Imo both have good selection of movies, look at amazon. Amazon also ships pretty fast and has really good prices.

bchandler
07-29-2007, 05:08 PM
I don't trust "upconverting" DVD players. How can it possibly take a non-HD signal, add new unique lines of resolution that didn't exist before, and make it true HD? I bought a Samsung upconverting DVD player and noticed no difference from my Philips progressive scan normal DVD player on my 1080i LCD.

mtlhead
07-29-2007, 05:26 PM
just an fyi (incase you didnt know) theres a way to fix the rings...that and microsoft just upgraded to a 3 year warranty

bamaboy
07-29-2007, 06:09 PM
i know but i have to send it off, and right now i pretty much only use it for dvds, so since i wont have it i cant wach dvds,also gave me an excuse to buy a hddvd player

im going to give them a call soon to see what to do with it

joetama
07-30-2007, 12:13 AM
I don't trust "upconverting" DVD players. How can it possibly take a non-HD signal, add new unique lines of resolution that didn't exist before, and make it true HD? I bought a Samsung upconverting DVD player and noticed no difference from my Philips progressive scan normal DVD player on my 1080i LCD.

They might sneak upstairs and rape your sister in the middle of the night too... :fyi:


I am no video guru and don't claim to be. But, if I am correct your TV converts the input signal to it's native resolution anyway, SO if you have a TV thats native resolution is higher than the signal you are feeding it then it upconverts the signal anyway.

So, pretty much what you have discovered, as many people with decent sets have, is that your TV is a better upconverter than the DVD player. My Pioneer Elite is better at upconverting my Pioneer Elite DV-59avi's 480p than the Oppo HD-981 is feeding out 720p/1080i/1080p.

bchandler
07-30-2007, 12:49 AM
They might sneak upstairs and rape your sister in the middle of the night too... :fyi:


I am no video guru and don't claim to be. But, if I am correct your TV converts the input signal to it's native resolution anyway, SO if you have a TV thats native resolution is higher than the signal you are feeding it then it upconverts the signal anyway.

So, pretty much what you have discovered, as many people with decent sets have, is that your TV is a better upconverter than the DVD player. My Pioneer Elite is better at upconverting my Pioneer Elite DV-59avi's 480p than the Oppo HD-981 is feeding out 720p/1080i/1080p.

Good thing I don't have a sister then... or an upstairs.:D

I guess I should have said I don't trust the claims of the marketing that the player can take your non HD signal, and magically turn it into an HD signal.

I didn't know TVs convert to their native resolution. It would make sense though that a TV that has, say, 720 lines of resolution cannot display a signal that is only 480 lines, unless it boxes it off into a corner of the screen. But I don't understand where it gets the new lines of data. Does it just duplicate most of the lines over again? How does it choose what lines to reproduce if they are not exactly twice the number of original lines? Just curious more than anything else

joetama
07-30-2007, 01:02 AM
I'm guessing the answer to any digital age problem... Decoding/encoding algorithms...