PDA

View Full Version : someone explain 3 way active on alpine 9833....



Rich00
07-25-2007, 12:31 AM
I noticed I have a 3way setup switch on top of my HU what exactly does this mean. That I can go active with my HU and a 4channel amp with some front comps? Can you help explain to me what the beneifts are? I do love to tweek my system and play with them til I get them right.

genxx
07-25-2007, 04:24 AM
Here is a link that will help explain active set-up.

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=146726

Rich00
07-25-2007, 01:43 PM
I've read that. I just am not sure what the setting on my HU does when I switch it over to that.

bikinpunk
07-25-2007, 04:03 PM
It allows you to control a 3-way front stage. You can have tweeters, midrange, and midbass all playing a certain range, that you desire.

Rich00
07-25-2007, 05:46 PM
so tweets, front speaker mids, and sub? would that work?

headless
07-25-2007, 06:16 PM
Yes. Tweeters would be highpassed (somewhere around 2.5khz to 5.5khz probably), woofers would be bandpassed around 2.5khz and again around 80-120hz or so, then subwoofer would be low-passed at around 60-80hz or so. All completely fabricated #'s that vary greatly depending on your speakers.

squeak9798
07-25-2007, 07:52 PM
It allows you to control a 3-way front stage. You can have tweeters, midrange, and midbass all playing a certain range, that you desire.

Keep in mind that the "3-way" system on the 9833 is for the entire system, not just the front stage. There is one highpass output, one bandpass output and one lowpass output (lowpass only, not bandpass). This would be "best" used for a 2-way active front stage + subwoofer. You can do a 3-way active front stage with it, but you need to externally highpass the midbass and externally lowpass the subwoofer.

SRim23
07-25-2007, 07:57 PM
http://www.alpine-usa.com/US-en/support/support_search.php?modelname=cda-9833

heres the link to your owners manual that should explain that i believe. i have the 9855 and i have mine set up for 3 way.

like said above it lets you set tweeter, mid, sub.

Rich00
07-26-2007, 12:29 AM
Hang on a minute this might just clicked. I can run RCA from my HU to 4 channel amp. that said 4channel will run front r and l tweets on 2 channels and rear r and l mids on 2 channels. Then I can use the rear output on internal amp for rear fill when I have guests in the car. Can I do this? Or is my thinking correct?

99StangGt
07-26-2007, 01:31 AM
Hang on a minute this might just clicked. I can run RCA from my HU to 4 channel amp. that said 4channel will run front r and l tweets on 2 channels and rear r and l mids on 2 channels. Then I can use the rear output on internal amp for rear fill when I have guests in the car. Can I do this? Or is my thinking correct?

Problem with this is the rear channels will be bandpassed meaning the internal amp will only provide the signals that the crossover is set for the mids. The front channels on the 3-way setup run tweeters only, the rear channels run mids meaning from around 80hz to say 3000hz. Running in 3-way mode is very hard to have rear speakers and an active from comps. Personally I would scrap the rears and run the active front comps and a sub. I use to have rear fill and now dont like it after hearing how good it sounds with a great front stage. I have my tweeters running from 3000 up my mids are running from 80 to 2500 and my subs 63 down. If your wanting rears then the best way is passive crossover for the comps off the front and running the rears off the rear.

Rich00
07-26-2007, 01:40 AM
Well I guess I will try a 2 channel on the fronts and run factory 6x9's off rear channel of HU. I am going on a long trip and people will be riding in the back seat of the car and they need to hear the stereo on a 6hr trip.

Rich00
07-26-2007, 01:43 AM
**** I may just run my entire system off the 4 channel. I don't know I still want the amp though.

SRim23
07-26-2007, 01:57 AM
set it up the way you want and tell the passengers to bring their ipods

Rich00
07-26-2007, 01:58 AM
I may do that. I don't quite know what i'm gonna do until I get most of my pieces and parts here. I am buying a 4channel to run the fronts and may install it later.

SRim23
07-26-2007, 02:22 AM
i set mine up the way weve been talking 4 channel amp running tweets on front channels, mids on rear channels. so far i like it going to be getting my subs set up soon and finally see what people talk about when they say you dont need rear fill hopefully they are right.

i might add another set of tweets in the front just for shits and giggles once i get the subs hooked up.

Rich00
07-27-2007, 02:59 PM
I have kinda been brainstorming how to keep some rear fill and have active front setup. What about if you run tweeters off my deck power 26x4 RMS cea cert. Run my front speakers off a 2 channel and my rear stock 6x9s off the rear of the deck power. How would this work out or not at all?