PDA

View Full Version : Will the Viper 5900 handle a shaved Burb



saltybob
07-21-2007, 03:03 AM
I have a 99 suburban that will soon be shaved. I would like to be able to open all doors separately but am hoping to just run a alarm and not a separate remote for doors. I like the Viper 5900 but I may run out of channels if I'm reading the install manuel correctly?
Look forward to adding this site to my regular reading since my wife is going though a mid life crises with this suburban I'm sure the stereo is next.
Bob

SentraStyle
07-21-2007, 03:22 AM
If you do run out of channels, you can always add a channel expander. That will turn one output into 6 new outputs. I think the model number is 450T or 450R...one of those...can't remember off the top of my head.

saltybob
07-21-2007, 12:22 PM
TY SentraStyleEMW,
Cant believe Iv not seen a expander. I'm having a hard time finding expander info or price anywhere though. How does a expander program into the remote?

jadon087
07-21-2007, 12:26 PM
heres a link to where you can purchase one man just to help you out
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_8486_Directed+450R.html

saltybob
07-21-2007, 12:52 PM
Thanks Jadon,
But the link brought about a problem, It says programable to any HF remote. I dont want to have to carry another remote I would like to just use the 5900 remote for all doors. Is this possible or am I screwed.
Bob

saltybob
07-23-2007, 09:48 AM
Im sure someone can help me.

SentraStyle
07-24-2007, 12:11 AM
Actually, the 450T is the one that you want. It uses one of the wired aux outputs from the host alarm (in your case, the 5900) and turns it into 6 additional channels (well, 5 because you lose one ch. from your alarm to access the other 6). It works like this...say you hook it up to the output that uses the aux button on the remote. If you want the 4th channal on the 450T accessed, you would press your aux button once to access the 450T and then press aux 4 more times to access ch 4 of the 450T. If you want ch. 1 of the 450T, you would press aux to access and then aux again to access ch. 1. I am pretty sure that is how it works. But I could be mistaken and all you have to do is press the aux button the number of times that corresponds to that channel w/o pressing it once to activate it. Let me know if you have any other questions.

saltybob
07-24-2007, 11:33 AM
Great timing Sentra, I was just about ready to order the 5900 and a key less entry setup and getting stuck with 2 remotes. The 450T is a little harder to find then the 450r but its definitely what I need.
Thanks for the help.

saltybob
07-25-2007, 03:04 PM
I'm having a hard time finding the 450t from a reputable dealer, any one have a link for me or a suggestion.

Rochambeau
07-25-2007, 03:08 PM
I'm having a hard time finding the 450t from a reputable dealer, any one have a link for me or a suggestion.


Speakerworks in Orange is a Directed dealer and certainly reputable.
714-997-2475.

SentraStyle
07-26-2007, 12:59 AM
I'm having a hard time finding the 450t from a reputable dealer, any one have a link for me or a suggestion.

http://www.autotechs.com/cat31.htm

I've had customers buy many remotes from there in the past and have always had pleasant outcomes.

aesoj
07-26-2007, 07:33 PM
saltybob,

I have a brand new 450T sitting in a box full of alarm crap that I have. Autotechs wants $50 for theirs; I'll take $40 for mine. If you're interested, send me a pm with your email address in it and I'll send you some pics. By the way, I take Paypal...and don't charge the fees.

-Jose