PDA

View Full Version : SLC265 Kicks Bi- Amp?



bsbrits
07-17-2007, 11:49 AM
Hello yall,
I have a set of SLC265 Kicks on the way. I have a SAX-1000.4

Should I use the existing Rainbow crossover for the mids or Run them
direclty to the amp crossed over at 80hz with a High Pass filter.

I know the SLC265 crossovers don't allow Bi-Amping.

Will I be able to Bi-amp the components using this method?
Channel 1&2- For the Tweets run thru the SLC265 Crossover
Channel 3&4 -For the mids run thru an external crossover Set at 80hz Highpass and bypass the SLC265 Crossover

Thanx

bsbrits

alphakenny1
07-17-2007, 01:33 PM
then you will also need to lowpass the mid. i'd just try fully passive first with you bridging the sundown amp to them and see how it goes.

DejaWiz
07-17-2007, 01:35 PM
I wouldn't let the mids roll off without a LP filter. If you want to biamp using passive xovers, there is a possible option, but it's probably rather pricey:

CAL25CO (http://car.rainbow-audio.de/products/details.php?lan=2&pro=1&lin=6&art=231409) (titanium tweets from the CMX line with xovers). Pic shows it as SLC biamp/biwire xover. I think those run a little over $200, though. Verify with one of the dealers here on the forums.

Or you can go full out active and ditch the passives. I'd recommend a Memphis 16-XO3 or Profile RX30R (http://www.millionbuy.com/prfpx30r.html).

bsbrits
07-17-2007, 02:04 PM
Thanks guys.
Any idea of the crossover points for the mid & tweets?

DejaWiz
07-17-2007, 02:06 PM
Thanks guys.
Any idea of the crossover points for the mid & tweets?

Certainly. It's 3800Hz (http://car.rainbow-audio.de/products/technical.php?lan=2&pro=1&lin=7). :cool:

Or 3500Hz (http://car.rainbow-audio.de/files/dynamic/downloads/rainbow_tsp_tweeters_en.pdf).

Depends on the crossover slope, really. Fs is 1700 Hz, so double that for a 12dB/Oct slope, maybe Fs+50% for 18dB/Oct, and possibly Fs+25% for 24dB/Oct. Dunno how truly accurate my guesses are for these... so maybe MiniVanMan will find this thread and chime in with his thoughts.

bsbrits
07-17-2007, 02:07 PM
Also, If I bridge channels 1&2 and 3&4 will I have stereo or just Mono. Did that make sense?

DejaWiz
07-17-2007, 02:13 PM
Mono. And don't do that. Please. ;)

bsbrits
07-17-2007, 02:13 PM
Thanks DejaWiz. I was trying to find Rainbows site..

DejaWiz
07-17-2007, 02:17 PM
No problem!

alphakenny1
07-17-2007, 04:18 PM
actually if you bridge the sundown amp it should be fine. bridge channels 1 & 2 to the left side and bridge channels 3 & 4 to right side ;). you will still maintain stereo separation.

DejaWiz
07-17-2007, 04:41 PM
actually if you bridge the sundown amp it should be fine. bridge channels 1 & 2 to the left side and bridge channels 3 & 4 to right side ;). you will still maintain stereo separation.

Not possible if he's wanting to truly biamp or run active. Biwire or run single signal cables to the passives yes, but not biamp.

bsbrits
07-17-2007, 05:03 PM
actually if you bridge the sundown amp it should be fine. bridge channels 1 & 2 to the left side and bridge channels 3 & 4 to right side ;). you will still maintain stereo separation.

Thats what I was wondering. I'll run them passive Bridged. Thats cool, I was hoping I would still have stereo separation.

Sound like i'm in good shape.. Thanks guys for your help..

alphakenny1
07-17-2007, 05:36 PM
Not possible if he's wanting to truly biamp or run active. Biwire or run single signal cables to the passives yes, but not biamp.

i think we're talking different things here. in my first post i mentioned that he should bridge first to see how it goes. then he asks if its okay to bridge the amp, whether it'll be mono or stereo. then i go yes its okay (assuming he was going passive). i never mentioned anything about bi-amping or going active.

DejaWiz
07-17-2007, 05:37 PM
Aaaah, I gotcha now. Sorry, it's late in the work day and I want to go home.