PDA

View Full Version : iPod question...



flatlander4510
07-11-2007, 04:34 PM
Now, I know the answer to this may vary depending on the HU, but lets say you have a 5th+ gen iPod hooked up via full speed cable to a current generation Alpine headunit. Does the data get transmitted to the HU, and then processed by the HU? Or does the full speed cable send a "line out" equivalent signal to the HU? I ask about the line out because I know that with the new iPods, if you get the docking station it has a line out on it.

flatlander4510
07-16-2007, 12:21 AM
...nobody?

cobra65427289
07-17-2007, 04:24 AM
The Alpine will connect through a full speed cable to the Ipod, no interconnects. The HU processes and plays the data from your Ipod. You can search and control and do everything from the HU. The Ipod will just chill in your cup holder or something.

99StangGt
07-17-2007, 10:57 AM
This is a question I asked a while ago and it is still in the air about the truth. I hear that the only deck to actually get a digital signal to the deck is the IDA-X001. The rest of the decks out there the ipod does the d/a converting for the sound. here is a link to my old thread.

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=227143

wesl56
07-17-2007, 11:05 AM
This is a question I asked a while ago and it is still in the air about the truth. I hear that the only deck to actually get a digital signal to the deck is the IDA-X001. The rest of the decks out there the ipod does the d/a converting for the sound. here is a link to my old thread.

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=227143

this is true..

you can verify that the music is playing on the ipod because the EQ and volume settings affect the sound