PDA

View Full Version : My impression of the X001 & H701



grizzly02
07-09-2007, 12:36 PM
Well, I just installed and needless to say want to go back to my CDA-9857! The display ***** and can not see in sunlight, I have to turn the volume all the way up to get any decent sound, the H701 has 4V out. Does not come with a remote (althought all alpine remotes work) The adjustability of the unit is not there, I can not turn off the clock as on the CDA, now I have three times, the radio, the car and my phone kit. I can not adjust the font to read all of the artist on the playlists. Overall not that happy! Waiting for the CDA-9887 then I will sell this!

Now onto the sound, h701 is runnning a JL 300/2 to the front stge CDT M6/Us-200 stage front with DRT 26/ 25 (Mids in the doors main tweets in the kicks/Image tweets in the a-pillars way up close to the dash)

JL A2150 rears stage to CDT HD-62 / Memphis Mclass tweets

Subs, JL 500/1 to two ED 11kv2's.

Oh yhea, the source button then ent. button to acess things *****, one button would be key! I do not have everything set yet, so maybe this is an unfair evaluation, but after having the CDA-9835 / 9855 (the 9885 was junk because of the glide touch) the 9857 was good for ipod, but I wanted the 24 bitt burr brown DAC. on the X001. Time will tell, but right now first impression is not good!

Also have not tuned the 701 yet either! or the front stage up-stage kit!






I do not have the subs in right now tunning the main stages. The M6's do make a big difference as opposed to the HD-6 in terms of mid bass! Sound is very good when I run copied disks to the IPOd, but when I run some songs directly downloaded off Imesh, I get some crackling on the highend range, not on any of the direct CD to Itunes copies though!

jluv
07-09-2007, 01:34 PM
How are you controlling the H701? I wasn't aware that the X001 controlled it, but that is interesting if so.

I have a remote for my W205 but it really doesn't control any functions of the H701. Thank goodness for touch screen. In fact, my remote sits in the center console and I only ever use it to mute the head unit, since the W205 doesn't have a mute button (wtf?).

To get the most from your H701, you should use/tune the channels all individually instead of running 6 speakers off of 2 channels.

alphakenny1
07-09-2007, 03:13 PM
you are gonna need the c701 to control the h701 fyi.

grizzly02
07-09-2007, 04:43 PM
Got the C701!

I really need to do some tunning etc. will work on it tonight tomorrow, the next day. But this HUis not my cup of tea! $250 to who ever wants it 1-day old!

CrazedCat
07-09-2007, 04:46 PM
$250 to who ever wants it 1-day old!

Where did you buy it from?

grizzly02
07-09-2007, 05:03 PM
Authorized Alpine dealer in NJ. I can email you the receipt. I am a repeat buyer and paid $285 for it!

CrazedCat
07-09-2007, 06:56 PM
ygpm

James Bang
07-09-2007, 07:04 PM
you're suppose to set the volume on the on the HU and leave it after it is set to the correct level. then you use the c701 from there on as the volume knob. I'm not sure if you are, but i would suggest going active w/ that processor.

grizzly02
07-10-2007, 10:32 PM
WRONG! When using the Ai-net on Div-EQ you use the HU to control volume! Only time you use the C701 is when you are using a non-Ainet HU!

Eugenics
07-10-2007, 11:08 PM
where are some more details on this 9887?

James Bang
07-11-2007, 07:35 PM
WRONG! When using the Ai-net on Div-EQ you use the HU to control volume! Only time you use the C701 is when you are using a non-Ainet HU!

what's up with the exclamations.


Maybe I am wrong, but you're the one with the problem.
i tried to help you, but you seem to know so much about the subject already.

I hope your problem persists.

DBfan187
07-11-2007, 07:39 PM
I think he's been drinking too much caffeine!


The following errors occurred when this message was submitted
The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later.

Eugenics
07-11-2007, 11:58 PM
what's up with the exclamations.


Maybe I am wrong, but you're the one with the problem.
i tried to help you, but you seem to know so much about the subject already.

I hope your problem persists.

haha

grizzly02
07-12-2007, 01:23 PM
**** you guys are like girls! Anytime you try to correct someone around here you get crap! These forums are to help I undestand. But to say I hope you problem continues is just stupid. Sorry if I came off harsh,not meant that way. I will be careful with my exclamations.

On a side note I think I am starting to like this HU more everyday!

James Bang
07-14-2007, 03:57 PM
try not to reply like a menstruating female with exclamations and caps when someone's is trying to help. then you might not get responses like that.

why would you want to yell at someone over the internet after they took the time to read your **** and type out a response. now that's just stupid.

since you understand that forums are to help, then why don't you enlighten us on how you got through your volume problem... instead of making a new thread on how you all of a sudden love this combo so much.

grizzly02
07-14-2007, 09:59 PM
To be honest, I do not really understand it. When I checked the 300/2 I saw that one of the output speaker wires were judt pulled out. I do no think I had it tightened all the way. But for some reason now the volume at 1/2 is loud enought and with the 300/2 gain set properly with a !khz test tunes to 24.5 volts.

Also I did not have the complet upstage kit in until a few days ago so I think that may have made a difference. But I love it now. I have not tuned the 701 totally and working on the TCR tomorrow.

The only thing I do not like is the interface for the C cahnger disk change and radio station presets. Other then that really good 24 bit DAC. Sounds very good. I still think I might get the 9887 when avliable and this will be for sale!