PDA

View Full Version : do i need to use a crossover or not?



nightrider45
07-08-2007, 02:38 PM
I'm getting theses speakers for real cheap but i was wondering do i need to use the crossovers or not? I'm hooking the speakers straight to the amp so whats the sense of using the crossover?

http://shopping.yahoo.com/p:Polk%20Audio%20AA2650-A%20Car%20Speaker:1993433147:page=details;_ylt=AkA 513rjC2PoQJlHGPuWVJo0SL4F;_ylu=X3oDMTA5ZW01N2htBHN lYwNiZ3NpYg--

tigerf117
07-08-2007, 02:42 PM
It will seperate the frequencies between the speakers. Otherwise you'd be sending the entire frequency spectrum of 80-20k hz to the tweet as well as the mid driver. That would not be good. That crossover is really small anyways, why don't you want to use it?

nightrider45
07-08-2007, 02:46 PM
That crossover is really small anyways, why don't you want to use it?

because i thought i can use the crossovers on the amp since i'm going to run the amp to my door speakers. I never worked with speakers that has crossovers. how does that work? and where can i place it since theres no room by my door. Can i just tuck it under my seat or something? And is that a set of speakers? I'm getting them for 55shipped.

dumple
07-08-2007, 02:54 PM
where do you get 55 shipped those say 149.99

nightrider45
07-08-2007, 02:56 PM
from a person, it's used not new, i dont take business classes in college for nothing lol, its part of neg.

dumple
07-08-2007, 02:58 PM
from a person, it's used not new, i dont take business classes in college for nothing lol, its part of neg.

ok! but you dont know if they come in a set :graduate:

tigerf117
07-08-2007, 03:09 PM
The crossovers on the amp are just going to be a straight high or low pass filter - meaning they will stop anything belowe (variable) 50-250hz for the HPF, vice versa for th LPF.

A crossover does the same thing but its 2-way vs 1way on your amp. The midbas driver will be crossed at around 2000hz and the tweet will take about 2000hz up. You can get some velcro and stick it to the back of the crossover and the the other part to the inside of ur door, Thats what i've done. In fact, adhesive velcro is amazing handy in many situations with car audio I've noticed. Hope that helps

nightrider45
07-08-2007, 04:17 PM
so i'm guessing using a crossover would benifit me? but if i dont use it will it damage my speaker and tweeters? what would happen to the sound quality? Is there like a wiring diagram that i can see how to hook up the speakers with the crossover connecting it to my amp?

crow
07-08-2007, 05:39 PM
Crossovers are easy to hook up once you have it in front of you. Here's a link to the manual for the Polk MMC650's. The crossover wiring is on page 5.
http://www.polkaudio.com/downloads/manuals/car/PolkMomo_CoaxManual.pdf

Do not run the speakers without crossovers as the tweeters will be destroyed running full range.

DejaWiz
07-08-2007, 05:43 PM
Yes, use the crossovers.

wire from amp speaker outs -> crossovers

wire from crossovers tweeter outs -> tweeters

wire from crossovers mids outs -> mids


[edit] ^ beat me to it

nightrider45
07-08-2007, 06:17 PM
thank you guys.

Corollacrazy42
07-09-2007, 04:31 AM
You can run without the crossover, but you need to know how to tune it on your headunit or your amp for it to be able to work right, or without damaging the speakers as you stated.

More then likely use crossovers

genxx
07-09-2007, 08:51 AM
You can run without the crossover, but you need to know how to tune it on your headunit or your amp for it to be able to work right, or without damaging the speakers as you stated.

More then likely use crossovers

Corollacrazy-Do you have a clue what you are talking about. Because I would really like to know how you can run them without crossovers, just by tuning your headunit and amp. Like you stated above.

Because either way you do it you will have to run either active or passive crossovers period.

You can run without passive crossoves if you heaunit or amp has the ability to handle that duty. Basically going active x-over vs. passive.

Just use the passives like poeple have already said.

nightrider45
07-09-2007, 10:54 PM
ima use the crossover like everyone stated, thanks for the info guys