PDA

View Full Version : dj rackmount amp?



meistah
07-05-2007, 10:06 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/GEMSOUND-1200w-STEREO-POWER-AMPLIFIER-RACK-MOUNT-DJ-AMP_W0QQitemZ270140561964QQihZ017QQcategoryZ23787Q QtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem

would i be able to use something like that to power a subwoofer(s) and hook up to a reciever? it seems like a really cheap way to get a decent amount of power for my subs, almost too good to be true....

Trey803
07-05-2007, 10:07 PM
as long as its the right ohms

meistah
07-05-2007, 10:31 PM
right...so 4ohms no worries....ive just never heard of people using these for subs before....seems alot cheaper than getting a plate amp....only thing i can think of is that it might be a bit big and inconvenient

jmanpc
07-05-2007, 10:32 PM
Gemsound = lose. It's just a knockoff of the Crown CE1000.

meistah
07-05-2007, 10:36 PM
ahh....i see....well, i dont care if its a knockoff as long as it puts out its rated power....or is it just a pos like pyramid or pyle?

jmanpc
07-05-2007, 10:39 PM
Look at the price and you tell me.

meistah
07-05-2007, 10:44 PM
touche....

thylantyr
07-05-2007, 11:04 PM
Many amps even high end amps may not meet rated power. That's not a bad thing,
just look at what the amp can do and then judge it fairly. This amp is rated for
600w @ 4 ohm bridged. I would estimate 300w @ 4 ohm bridged for subs
under heavy stress. Is $100 worth it for a 300w sub amp? You decide.

dbaudio
07-05-2007, 11:19 PM
save your money and get a real Crown (XLS or CE series) or a QSC (RMX series)