PDA

View Full Version : Sub enclosure help



phantom240
07-02-2007, 12:36 AM
Im going to build a box for 2 Memphis PR 12's. I was thinking about 1.5-2 cubes each tuned to about 35hz. Think thats enough space? They're gonna be run on about 300-450 per sub.

skadude016
07-02-2007, 12:42 AM
ya 2 cubes each would be good. 1.5 may be to far on the smaller side

phantom240
07-02-2007, 01:01 AM
Meh. Its a small car. The sub is in a prefab ported box right now. I got it from where I work, and it sounds pretty good right now. I only have one ATM, but Im getting a second probably this week. It looks to be about 1 cube, and probably ported to about 35-40hz. Its pretty loud and has nice punch to it. I also added about a pound of polyfill to the enclosure.

slayorktc
07-02-2007, 02:20 AM
2 cu each with a nice port - tune it like 36 or so and let them hit hard :D

phantom240
07-02-2007, 12:27 PM
So I'm working out the dimensions of the enclosure and the port and I've run into a problem; I can't make the port length work with my box dimensions. I wanted the port between the two subs so that it would act as bracing, which was the downfall of my first box. With my port height of 13.5", and a width of 4", my port length has to be approximately 26" long. My box is only 16" deep. Could I run the port as far as I can, then split it off into each chamber? I would cut the width in half going to each chamber, so come up with the correct total width. Would that work, or how else could I split the port so that I could have it run the correct length?

phantom240
07-02-2007, 03:53 PM
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y152/phantom240/Unfinishedbox.jpg