PDA

View Full Version : ported or sealed?



blimblam
06-30-2007, 02:21 PM
i dont really want to put my CVR's into a sealed enclosure but i'm afraid my trunk is too small to fit a GOOD ported enclosure into it. i was wondering if CVR's sound good in a sealed enclosure. thanks.

jmanpc
06-30-2007, 02:23 PM
Yes, they sound a-ok in a sealed enclosure, but they really shine in a ported one. I had 3 10" CVRs in a sealed box, and then put em in a ported box, and the diff was incredible.

blimblam
06-30-2007, 02:32 PM
yea, im really disappointed that i might not be able to use a ported enclosure due to the small trunk opening. i will see what vitveet can whip up for me then i will see what i can do.

how much air space do you think i should have for each CVR? i have 2 12"

Qbenjamin
06-30-2007, 02:36 PM
I have a BNIB Orion D2400 w/2-year warranty.
1200 @ 1 (Keep your gains down)
800 @ 2
425 @ 4
Has everything straight from Directed, ie: bass knob, decal, ESP, etc..
$285 shipped via Paypal. $275 shipped MO.

blimblam
06-30-2007, 02:39 PM
thanks for the offer, i think im going to choose between a sundown sae-1000d (275 shipped) and a cadence...i forgot the name. but its 199 shipped.

doyoshuffle5
06-30-2007, 02:43 PM
airspace is 2.25 maximum for each sub so 4.5 for two

minimum is about 1.75 per or 3.5 for two

i got a ported box running at about 4.2 tuned at 34hz and my trunk isnt too big its goin into a grand am

blimblam
06-30-2007, 02:48 PM
airspace is 2.25 maximum for each sub so 4.5 for two

minimum is about 1.75 per or 3.5 for two

i got a ported box running at about 4.2 tuned at 34hz and my trunk isnt too big its goin into a grand am

i know what the measurements have to be..what are the dimensions of your box?

doyoshuffle5
06-30-2007, 02:49 PM
33 length
14 heigh
21-23 deep
4 in port width

Qbenjamin
06-30-2007, 02:49 PM
thanks for the offer, i think im going to choose between a sundown sae-1000d (275 shipped) and a cadence...i forgot the name. but its 199 shipped.

Good choice on the SAE-1000D.

blimblam
06-30-2007, 02:54 PM
airspace is 2.25 maximum for each sub so 4.5 for two

minimum is about 1.75 per or 3.5 for two

i got a ported box running at about 4.2 tuned at 34hz and my trunk isnt too big its goin into a grand am


33 length
14 heigh
21-23 deep
4 in port width

are you sure those are the measurements? i used the RE enclosure calculator, not sure how accurate it is but it doesn't come out to that.

and i can't fit that into my trunk in one piece.
max measurements are 37.5" W x 15.5" H x 16" D

doyoshuffle5
06-30-2007, 02:55 PM
i had Trixter make it for me

doyoshuffle5
06-30-2007, 02:57 PM
http://img526.imageshack.us/my.php?image=4cufttunedto34hzwith50sfq4.png


i thought it was 4.2 but its only 4

doyoshuffle5
06-30-2007, 03:01 PM
actually its more like 31 or 32hz i just put it into the calculator

blimblam
06-30-2007, 03:15 PM
or, i can have 2 separate enclosures each facing each other by the tail lights instead of by the rear seats. do you think thats a good idea? because with that, i think i can get a better fit and is easier for me to make sure the measurements are right. do yall think that's a good idea?

max dimensions to fit enclosure into trunk in one piece is 37" W x 15.25" H x 16" D
im not entirely sure about the depth because im not sure how to measure it, bottom of trunk opening to the trunk floor?

doyoshuffle5
06-30-2007, 07:51 PM
bottom of trunk and back

jmanpc
06-30-2007, 07:54 PM
I built a box for 2 cvr's- 4 @ 35 and it was nuts in my friends xterra

blimblam
06-30-2007, 07:57 PM
bottom of trunk and back

i meant the max depth i can have to fit it into the car through the opening.

blimblam
06-30-2007, 07:58 PM
I built a box for 2 cvr's- 4 @ 35 and it was nuts in my friends xterra

do you have the box plans for it still?

blimblam
06-30-2007, 10:22 PM
eh, decided to go sealed. building it as big *** possible with 1pound of polyfill per cu. ft. according to IonSQL. Thanks for all t he help guys.