PDA

View Full Version : Too much port?



KnOkIn It 420
06-30-2007, 01:26 PM
I will be upgrading to a 18" soon...finally. AQ or DD 18.I am wanting to keep this install on the small side. I would like to do 5 cubes @ 40 with 3 6" areo.But I am not sure if that is too much because of how efficent they are.I could easyly just do 6 cubes with 3,but I want to do that as a last resort.Thanks for any input.

KnOkIn It 420
07-02-2007, 05:45 PM
Thanks for the input!:terrible:

mlstrass
07-02-2007, 09:27 PM
AQ/DD recommend 16-17^2 of port per cube. 6" port = 28^2 = 84^2, so you would be fine with a 5 cube box.

KnOkIn It 420
07-02-2007, 09:55 PM
BUt the areos are very efficent,3 was a killer over kill on 15s (daily)Just wanted to see if anyone has done 3 in that small of a box and what their results were.I have been told a 6" areo is good for every 2 cubes ideal daily.

mlstrass
07-02-2007, 10:03 PM
How about 3-4 4" aeros then? Also I know you can overport an AQ/DD sub if leaning more towards the SPL side of things.

Or do 3 6" regular round ports with no flare...

Call DJ at AQ and see what he thinks. Man has a lot of knowledge and is willing to share if you're willing to listen.

KnOkIn It 420
07-03-2007, 05:13 PM
How about 3-4 4" aeros then? Also I know you can overport an AQ/DD sub if leaning more towards the SPL side of things.

Or do 3 6" regular round ports with no flare...

Call DJ at AQ and see what he thinks. Man has a lot of knowledge and is willing to share if you're willing to listen.

That just might work, I will give it a try.Might be some port noise, I'll see.

mlstrass
07-03-2007, 06:10 PM
Shouldn't be ANY port noise as you'll have a little more than the required port area needed for that size box.

If you have the 3 aeros then I'd just use them as I don't see it hurting anything as long as you're tuned correctly...