PDA

View Full Version : kicker 12" cvr for home stereo



alex3kicker
06-28-2007, 06:28 PM
I bought a 12" D4 cvr because I needed to pass it off for a solo x for a while:laugh: so now when I get the actual solo x I decided I could put this sub to use in my room. Its the DVC 4 ohm so I'll be getting a ZX400.1 to power it. My question is what all in wiring will I need? Do I need a car battery or a power supply? What does my home stereo need to have? Will I be better off with a car stereo? My current stereo has 4 8 ohm speaker connections,4 16 ohm speaker connections,RCA inputs and RCA outputs. What do I need to make this work?...........kind of a noob so use basic terms:suicide:

Skatin Houston
06-28-2007, 06:40 PM
Ok...your best bet would to get a in wall amplifier. They plug into the wall.....and the inputs are from your home reciever. The wires from the reciever go to the amp, and the wires from the amp go to you left and right speakers. To be honest...I wouldn't even F with tryin to put a car amp in the house....and its something an afro american would do.:fro: here is pics of my set-up in my room. Its a 12 RCA ported sub and a 200 watt amp on the back. And Bose Jewel Cubes for my left/right speakers,all powered by a Pioneer reciever.
http://i161.photobucket.com/albums/t223/SkatinHouston/1183067726.jpg
http://i161.photobucket.com/albums/t223/SkatinHouston/1183067618.jpg

alex3kicker
06-28-2007, 06:43 PM
Where Can I get one of those amps? Can I use RCA's to connect my stereo to that amp? and then use bare wire to connect the amp to the sub and speakers?

alex3kicker
06-28-2007, 07:24 PM
and about the box.......how much would it cost to have one custom made?

Skatin Houston
06-28-2007, 08:00 PM
Where Can I get one of those amps? Can I use RCA's to connect my stereo to that amp? and then use bare wire to connect the amp to the sub and speakers?

Ummm...can't think of anywhere of the top of my head. But yeah....you can use the RCAs from your reciever as an input. Look closely at the one pic I posted.

Skatin Houston
06-28-2007, 08:02 PM
and about the box.......how much would it cost to have one custom made?
You could build one your self for less than $30....a custom box built by someone on here won't cost too much.
BTW it has a 3'' aero port on the bottom of the enclosure.

4runnercrazy
06-28-2007, 08:03 PM
u can buy my regulated power supply:)
its like a car batt, that plugs into teh wall

alex3kicker
06-28-2007, 08:07 PM
The pics a little hard for me to see the little details cuz I need glasses lol I have no experience with building boxes. What tuning and such do you recomend if I'm going to use this for music and movies as well?

alex3kicker
06-28-2007, 08:07 PM
u can buy my regulated power supply:)
its like a car batt, that plugs into teh wall

pics?specs? Will it work for what I'm doing?

alex3kicker
06-28-2007, 08:54 PM
bump...........?