PDA

View Full Version : Tuning round ports?

AltarCrystal
06-19-2007, 11:50 PM
Alright, I've finally got my box all planned out...EXCEPT for the ports.

Due to the boxes shape (5-sided...having some fun with this one :naughty:) I'm using ruond ports.

I've never done round ports before.

So, I found a port calculator, and it said if I use tubes 3" in diamater, it needs to be 8.39" long to tune the box to 30hz. Would this be good for an Fi Q in a box that's 2 cubes?

Now, do I attach the port so it starts at the hole for the tube, not sticking in the box, and goes out 8.39"? I assume so, or do I have part of that in the box? What if I want 2 tubes? Would PVC with custom made flares be good enough for this? It should I buy aeroports?

patrick1202
06-19-2007, 11:57 PM
lmao no you go inside the box not outside of the box and if you got two then the tuning would be off you probably have to divide the length by two not sure if you can do that

patrick1202
06-19-2007, 11:57 PM
have you ever seen a box with 8 inch pvc pipes sticking out of it im not sayin it wouldn't work but i dont think so

AltarCrystal
06-20-2007, 12:18 AM
have you ever seen a box with 8 inch pvc pipes sticking out of it im not sayin it wouldn't work but i dont think so

Well, yeah, I have. Thus, the question.

But alright, cool, thanks.

jaco
06-20-2007, 12:21 AM

my box has 4-4" ports sticking out of it.
what you act like you've never seen that before

patrick1202
06-20-2007, 02:18 AM
no i've seen it before just not much around here and somethin like you app not like a box 8 in port sticking out that would probably cause difficultys unless in a suv or somethin no i could see of your box was to small in a certain demension for you to tune it correctly couldn't you change the tuning by just adding piping??

mazdakid
06-20-2007, 07:10 AM
you should have atleast 2 4" ports for that sub and box. a single 3" one isnt going to sound nice

bdawson72
06-20-2007, 07:25 AM
Aren't you just the smart one