PDA

View Full Version : broken crossover - suggestion for replacement needed



thaster
06-14-2007, 06:16 PM
one of my crystals sscs 6 crossover broke and i am in search of a new crossover. can anybody recommend any crossover or a good site to buy just the crossover? any help is appreciated.

BassAce
06-14-2007, 06:18 PM
How did it break?

thaster
06-14-2007, 06:19 PM
one of the coil is hangin on by a thread to the board.

DejaWiz
06-14-2007, 06:25 PM
Do you have a 4 channel amp?

thaster
06-14-2007, 06:25 PM
i have a 4 channel amp bridged

DejaWiz
06-14-2007, 06:28 PM
What would you think of buying a budget active crossover and ditching the passives then?

thaster
06-14-2007, 06:34 PM
i rather stick to passive. i already love how my speakers sound and passive is way cheaper than active from what i seen.

Twistid
06-14-2007, 06:34 PM
either get new crossovers of the ones you had, or go active... cant just swap out crossovers... speakers and tweets need specific xover points or they may sound like crap (from what i understand, im just gettin into comp's and going active)

DejaWiz
06-14-2007, 06:35 PM
i rather stick to passive. i already love how my speakers sound and passive is way cheaper than active from what i seen.

Nope, not necessarily.... http://www.millionbuy.com/prfpx30r.html ;)

thaster
06-14-2007, 06:40 PM
Nope, not necessarily.... http://www.millionbuy.com/prfpx30r.html ;)

wont i have to buy two of those and im not really familiar with active crossover. the only thing i know is that it goes battery -> crossover->amp->speakers.

DejaWiz
06-14-2007, 06:43 PM
wont i have to buy two of those and im not really familiar with active crossover. the only thing i know is that it goes battery -> crossover->amp->speakers.

Nope, it's a 3way crossover, meaning it'll handle sub stage, midbass+midrange, and highs, so only 1 is needed.

For the power, you just wire it up like you would an amp.

For signal, it goes HU -> Active XO -> Amplifier(s).

thaster
06-14-2007, 06:47 PM
its goes from the headunit? rca cables?

so i will only need one for both my speakers?

DejaWiz
06-14-2007, 06:54 PM
its goes from the headunit? rca cables?

so i will only need one for both my speakers?

Yes, RCA's and yes, only one for your subs and front components.

Here's the owner's manual which will divulge some info about how active works.
http://www.profileusa.com/manuals/PX30R.pdf

thaster
06-14-2007, 07:04 PM
im willing to go active later from what i read but i just want to buy a passive crossover thats works with my crystals for now. so do u have any suggestion for a passive crossover that will work with my crystals. seem like i cant find crystals crossover anywhere.

DejaWiz
06-14-2007, 08:31 PM
Well that's going to be a severe challenge. Crystal went out of business a few weeks back and as far as I know their operations have been completely shut down.

siuvinson
06-14-2007, 09:14 PM
i'm in the same boat as you thaster....except a voice coil went bad on my crystals. i won't even attempt to comprehend the difference between going active or passive. i wish there were some sort of class i could take, or book i could buy named "car audio for morons" cause thats basically what i am. its probably better i don't know...that will limit the amount of money i sink into my stereo.

i'll just stick to a new set of comps...and dejawiz suggested rainbows.

headless
06-15-2007, 10:42 AM
www.bcae1.com
ftmfw

Can't go wrong with rainbows :)