PDA

View Full Version : Clarion DXZ775USB or Kenwood KDC-X991

Nevergo
06-11-2007, 09:30 PM
Hey been awhile. I'm looking at a new deck for my car. I plan on hooking up a 120gb+ HDD so i have been doing some research on decks. basicly to make a long story short what deck would be better for navigating through a HDD? I would prefer a double din but they don't make any that have time alignment and USB. The only thing i don't like about the kenwood is that it has some stuff i would never use like the cd ripping ability and 512mb of flash memory. Anyway what do you guys think?

Babs
06-12-2007, 09:04 AM
I have no experience with using a HDD but I'd love to see how it turns out.
The 775 intrigues me.. I wonder how far it is from their flagship 9255.. Because the 775 is CHEAP for what it does.. makes me wonder about it's components, quality and SQ, but makes me wonder.. is it any good? Maybe?.. In it's class, there's the 880 and the 7100 also with that amount of processing but more pricetag.

I did have an XXV anniversary version of the kenwood.. sounded nice.. burr-brown dacs, but with any of these decks, navigating through a bunch of files and folders with that little screen sounds daunting, if not dangerous while driving. If I were considering another Excelon, it would only be the 991.

Fast1one
06-12-2007, 09:16 AM
I agree the 775 does come fairly close to the processing power of the 880 and 7100, at half the price of the latter...time alignment, bandpass capabilities on 2/3 sets of channels, gain and attenuation for each INDIVIDUAL channel, Only thing it really lacks is 24db slopes...

Im sure the SQ is descent, probably up to par with the 880, bit lower than the 7100 but there hasnt been many experiences. I will surely be getting one this summer ;)

Babs
06-12-2007, 09:37 AM
I'd be interested in your impressions if you go with a 775.. Also would be cool to see some good quality pics.. Those manufacturer and dealer pics just don't do so hot.

Fast1one