PDA

View Full Version : 1 set preouts for sub or fronts?



tmcilroy
06-09-2007, 03:10 AM
I just installed my components today but my headunit only has one set of preouts. I used to have it hooked up to a 2 channel amp that powered my subs but wanted to use the same amp to power these components. I triple checked all the connections but they sound terrible. My HU is an old Pioneer DEH P2100 with only one set of preouts. Is this set designed only to hook an amp up to power subs or should it work with an amp to power a set of components?

Prowler573
06-09-2007, 08:36 AM
It should work with any amp that has a set of RCA preamp inputs.

It's likely affected by the headunit's fadar, however. If you have the fadar setting biased away from the rear try adjustig back to center and see if that helps any.

Outside of that I would suggest it is some sort of EQing issue? Possibly the crossover(s) in the amp set incorrectly?

tmcilroy
06-09-2007, 06:27 PM
Okay, I troubleshot this issue some more today and it sounds like 1 channel of my amp is bad because its only one side that has problems. When I reverse the speaker connections on the amp the other side has the same problems.