PDA

View Full Version : noob



Freelander
06-03-2007, 12:44 PM
I'm new to the site but not to car audio. I've recently bought a '03 Land Rover Freelander that I want to put a nice system in.

My S10 has four kicker CVR 12's powered by a MMATs D300HC in a 4ft^3 box. I'm not wanting anything quite extreme for the Freelander. I'm thinking a single 12 and using the D300HC.

For subs I've been looking at RE and ED but I'm open to suggestions. Keep in mind that my amp tested 1700+rms@2ohm.

Prowler573
06-03-2007, 12:48 PM
1.7kW+ @ 2 Ohms.
Quite the beast, eh?

What does it output @ 4 Ohms if you know?


:wave: Welcome to the site, by the way.
What kind of money are you wanting to spend on a single 12" ? With that amount of power available there are certainly many and much varied options but none of them are particularly budget oriented.

Freelander
06-03-2007, 01:11 PM
I believe at 4ohms it put out around 1200wrms.

I'm not really sure on what I will spend but I do make good money so I could spend quite a bit if I wanted to.

I'm just looking for options right now. I want something that can get low and loud but still has great SQ.

Freelander
06-03-2007, 01:13 PM
also the Freelander does not have room for a huge box.

latin22
06-03-2007, 01:51 PM
I believe at 4ohms it put out around 1200wrms.

I'm not really sure on what I will spend but I do make good money so I could spend quite a bit if I wanted to.

I'm just looking for options right now. I want something that can get low and loud but still has great SQ.


the mmats d300hc won't put anything near 1200 @ 4 ohms maybe around 300-500 watts at most.

Freelander
06-03-2007, 01:59 PM
eh who knows.... I run it at 2ohms so it don't matter to me what it does at 4ohm.

It is an efficient amp though, I can run the hell out of it and it don't even get warm.

blackbonnie
06-03-2007, 04:08 PM
welcome to the site

latin22
06-04-2007, 05:01 PM
eh who knows.... I run it at 2ohms so it don't matter to me what it does at 4ohm.

It is an efficient amp though, I can run the hell out of it and it don't even get warm.

Yeah Mmats amps are very efficient they are the only amps I run. Honestly most subs that I know that can take 1700 watts per sub require a fairly large box.You might be better off with two 850 watt 12's instead of one 1700 watt 12.It depends on how small of a box you are talking about. Take a look at the DD audio 2512's maybe.

UndercoverPunk
06-04-2007, 05:02 PM
4serious?

shortyg83
06-04-2007, 05:04 PM
You can try something along the lines of a FI Q to a BL
or something from TC sounds.

jadon087
06-04-2007, 05:07 PM
Welcome to the site man nice cars BTW. for you sub choice you could go

Rd audio Alpha 12
FI Q or BL
Tc Sounds 3k
Memphis mojo
just to name a few, just depends on what type of setup your going for sql or spl?

Freelander
06-04-2007, 07:26 PM
definately want good SQ but still want it to be loud. When I'm talking about wanting a small enclosure I'm talking no more than 3ft^3.

Freelander
06-04-2007, 07:31 PM
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/12/web/444000-444999/444173_13_full.jpg

Here is the system in my s10. It gets loud and sounds real clean. I'd almost put the kickers in the Freelander but want something different and something that don't take up the whole cargo area.

UndercoverPunk
06-04-2007, 07:33 PM
Try 2 12" Q's tuned to 28 hz in 5 cubes net. ;)

Oh single 12.... that'll work too.

with 1700 RMS... you've got more than enough power. I still reccomend the q or you could always find a 3rd gen mag 12 used. 28hz, 35-40 in^2 of port, 2.5 cubes net.

Freelander
06-04-2007, 08:09 PM
someone give me the link to FI's website.....

UndercoverPunk
06-04-2007, 08:58 PM
http://www.ficaraudio.com

Freelander
06-04-2007, 09:04 PM
Nice subs, better price than I expected. What is the BP package? I need to search and see what everyone thinks about em.

UndercoverPunk
06-04-2007, 09:07 PM
Nice subs, better price than I expected. What is the BP package? I need to search and see what everyone thinks about em.
It's a cooling option... I have q 18's w/o that option and they take 1000 each watts pretty well.

Freelander
06-04-2007, 09:14 PM
do you have yours sealed or ported?

I've never built a ported enclosure and have no clue on how one is tuned or anything....lol

UndercoverPunk
06-04-2007, 09:21 PM
do you have yours sealed or ported?

I've never built a ported enclosure and have no clue on how one is tuned or anything....lol

Right now I'm running them sealed. If you need help designing or building there are PLENTY of threads on here that go over that. If you just don't want to bother there are plenty of members who can take care of either or both of those tasks for you... for a price naturally.

Freelander
06-04-2007, 09:42 PM
Right now I'm running them sealed. If you need help designing or building there are PLENTY of threads on here that go over that. If you just don't want to bother there are plenty of members who can take care of either or both of those tasks for you... for a price naturally.


I like doing things myself. Plus I got the tools now to build a nice box minus a router. I've noticed in a couple of threads here that it looks like no screws are used? From what I could see the only thing they used was glue?

UndercoverPunk
06-04-2007, 10:45 PM
I like doing things myself. Plus I got the tools now to build a nice box minus a router. I've noticed in a couple of threads here that it looks like no screws are used? From what I could see the only thing they used was glue?

Yeah they just use clamps while the glue dries.

Freelander
06-04-2007, 10:51 PM
Yeah they just use clamps while the glue dries.


and thats strong enough?!?

UndercoverPunk
06-04-2007, 10:56 PM
If you do it right.

BassAce
06-05-2007, 06:20 PM
yep

denim
06-07-2007, 02:47 PM
hello