PDA

View Full Version : seems like such a simple question, but anyway...



quiimari
02-19-2003, 12:09 AM
How do you guys make the circle cuts, where the subwoofer goes in the box???? How exact would that have to be and what kind of tools do I need????

evo2k3
02-19-2003, 12:13 AM
1) if your good with a jig saw you can draw the circle and cut it.
2) you can by a jasper jig for a router (partsexpress.com sells them) or make your own, basicly just makes the radius of the cirle, and you drill a hole in the middle
3) I use a roto-zip (i actully have robi's versions, i like it better) with a cirlce cutting jig. You have to go a bit slower so to now burn out the bit (or break it), but the bits are much cheeper than router bits.

The 2nd 2 ways cut better cirlces, but if you ok with a jig saw, doing it by hand is not a bad option.

mgaidica
02-19-2003, 12:15 AM
i used a router, the circle cutter was cheap that i bought so it got off like .25 in one place, but the subs still fit. You can just trace and use a jig saw. I thought a jig saw wouldnt work that good, but really, I think I could have free-handed a circle better than my router cut one....

mgaidica
02-19-2003, 12:17 AM
I'm saying within .25" youll be FINE, any bigger you COULD run into problems... I had to do a little wood glue/sawdust and patch up a whole i drilled for sub mounting cause my circle was to big...

quiimari
02-19-2003, 12:17 AM
I do have a jigsaw, but it seems it would be hard to get good circles, but I guess I am going to have to try it out myself

quiimari
02-19-2003, 12:19 AM
you mean .25" thickness of the MDF??? cause someone told me to get atleast 3/4" thick fiberboard........

mgaidica
02-19-2003, 12:24 AM
ohhh..... yeh 3/4 mdf is the right thickness. AS for how much room you have to play with when cutting circles I said about .25 length wide.

taz-man
02-19-2003, 12:25 AM
No not .25 you need .75 MDF You don't need the flex:nono:

nswartley
02-19-2003, 12:25 AM
also make sure that just b/c you have 10" subs you dont make the cutout 10"...the cutout size is usually around 9" for a 10" i believe...but check the specs on your subs

quiimari
02-19-2003, 12:27 AM
yea my friend made that mistake.....i tried to tell him otherwise

mgaidica
02-19-2003, 12:29 AM
lol, i could just picture the look on ones face when they got there box together with 10" holes for 10" subwoofers and the drop right through

him- :mad:

me- :)

nswartley
02-19-2003, 01:08 AM
Originally posted by mgaidica
lol, i could just picture the look on ones face when they got there box together with 10" holes for 10" subwoofers and the drop right through

him- :mad:

me- :)

lol there was some guy on here a little while ago who did that...we told him that his cutouts were the wrong size and he was like FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK lol

paikiah
02-19-2003, 01:14 AM
Use a hole cutter bit, that can be attached to any drill... fast, precise, very clean cuts...

http://gallery.caraudio.com/pp/data/2/5134dscn1601-med.jpg

the metal pole behind the cap is the hole cutter...

if you see carefully, the bar has measurements at the ends, so if you're looking for real precision, just remove one blade, and cut with just one. You can also use this to sink your subs, but no way more accurate and clean as a router... but in terms of cutting large holes, no problem... mine goes up to 30cm, enough for a 12" sub mounting diameter. I'd have problems if I had to make a box for a 15"