PDA

View Full Version : anyone pair pro60's with jl 300/2?



ccotenj
05-30-2007, 08:14 PM
considering this option.

speakers will be door mounted. i don't have room in the kickpanels (without major surgery). doors will be deadened.

feedback appreciated.

jeremiah
05-30-2007, 08:59 PM
good

ace_800
05-30-2007, 09:03 PM
More Power!!

HCCA
06-01-2007, 01:08 AM
http://www.bostonacoustics.com/car/car_product.aspx?category_id=19&family_id=90&product_id=247
Remember, the Pro 60's are rated 3 ohm nominal impedance. The Boston amps are rated at 12.6V @ 4 ohm. The GT-24 would put out close to 200 Watts x 2 @ typical operating voltage. But, 225-240W x 2 @ 14.4Volts.

chucku
06-01-2007, 08:20 PM
I am running a jl 300/4 bridged to my pro mids and its enough power. They start to smell after about 3 songs turned up. I would suggest a 450/4, I would like one but cant afford it.

Bloodstalker999
06-01-2007, 08:28 PM
I am running a jl 300/4 bridged to my pro mids and its enough power. They start to smell after about 3 songs turned up. I would suggest a 450/4, I would like one but cant afford it.

So they start to smell after 3 songs turned up and you suggest more power? Care to share you logic behind this thought?

ccotenj
06-01-2007, 09:19 PM
yea, i was wondering a bit about that too? is he really looking to have a carbeque?

i have no desire to make them light up on fire... i just want reasonably loud clean music... my ears are damaged enough already...

fwiw, i already own the amp... i asked the question because there seemed to be some conflicting opinions when i searched... some (including my installer) believe that the 300/2 is more than enough.... others seem to be putting (what appears to be) ridiculous amounts of power to them...

since i'm "experienced" (read: old :) ), i've been around long to know that just because people have x amount of juice hooked up to something, doesn't mean that something is actually using it... for example, i've got 200 watt monoblocks with a boatload of capacitance driving my main speakers in my listening room, but i know **** well that i'm not using that much... that being said, headroom is a wonderful thing... :)

chucku
06-01-2007, 10:26 PM
Im using two amps to power the bostons, a 300/4 bridged to the mids and an alpine bridged to the tweets, not the way I would want to do it, but I had the amps, the 450/4 would cut that down to 1 amp unbridged. The bostons want lots of power but a 300/2 would do if you have one already. With the 450/4 you could bi amp them or run active. Its the perfect amp for comps if you ask me. P.S. I forgot, My speakers are probabily smelling because the amp is clipping at high volume, more power can actually cure that. There loud enough for me though, and Im old as well, and dont listen to it at those volumes much.