PDA

View Full Version : Computer sound



Dozy_production
05-29-2007, 03:59 AM
Well once again i find myself asking an annoying question. Well my friend is getting married and he needs some sound for his new little house. My friends and I are looking to get him either a 2.1 or 5.1 system for the computer and all of us are willing to spend up to 200 dollars.

One of the friends has some creative 5.1 and well i wasn't to impressed with the semi farty sounding bass and lack of clarity. So to ask, where should I start with when it comes to brands and models?

supa_c
05-29-2007, 04:03 AM
Logitech makes some fairly decient computer speakers that arent to bad.
Most are a 2.1 or a 4.1, dont really need a 5.1 since the center channel is mainly used for dialogue.
You could also get him a nice cheap home theater in a box.

phyphoestilic
05-29-2007, 04:03 AM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829121122

something like that would work pretty well.

There are home theater systems that are really 5.1 channels, then there are the fake ones that use a 2.1 signal but has 5 speakers + subwoofer.

supa_c
05-29-2007, 04:10 AM
who wants poopy sounding bass...not i

phyphoestilic
05-29-2007, 04:21 AM
5.1 is gay for computer systems ... Just get 2.1 ... Klipsche is probably the best you'll find for computer speakers as far as clarity goes ...

I run 5.1 :blackeye: (when i watch movies anyways. :) )

Dozy_production
05-29-2007, 07:47 PM
Thanks for the input.


My friends and I narrowed it down to the klipsch promedia 2.1 or the logitech Z-2300 spec wise. We chose a 2.1 system because we visited the "soon to be married" friend and his room is teeny tiny, and 2.1 will suffice.

bk12321
05-29-2007, 07:50 PM
u will be happy with the promedias.... they are amazing from what ive heard.

docutech
05-29-2007, 09:25 PM
who wants poopy sounding bass...not i

lol...ever sit in a room at 3 am after listening to a fav song...forgetting to turn down the volume and suddenly get a critical halt error in windows...:eek:

Talk about poopy in your FTL's...

I have done that a few times with my Promedias 4.1's!

supa_c
05-29-2007, 09:29 PM
no, i have a mac, it doesnt get critical errors :cool:

docutech
05-29-2007, 09:30 PM
LOL, you my dear sir, are missin out!:fro:

cunokyle
05-29-2007, 09:34 PM
These are a decent 5.1 setup...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16836121121


A good 2.1 setup.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16836119101


Another good 2.1 setup

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16836121122