PDA

View Full Version : 2ch or 4ch for comps?????



oxsign
05-23-2007, 12:52 AM
I've got 2 sets of RE 6.5 comps that i'll be putting into my blazer. My question is would I be better using a 2ch or 4ch amp?? I currently have and Orion 400/4. I just wasn't sure if that would be good. Or should I look into getting an Orion 600/2 to push them with? :confused:

XanderMoser
05-23-2007, 01:04 AM
You have 2 sets of components = 4 sets of mids+tweeters+crossovers = 4 channels required for amp

It is possible to do it on 2 channels, but you'd be running at either 2 or 8 ohms on each channel (by hooking up each side in parallel or series, respectively) and you'd lose your fader ability on your HU

oxsign
05-23-2007, 04:03 PM
Ok, thats what I was thinking as well. I was just wanting to make sure before I start the install, thx. :cool:

XanderMoser
05-24-2007, 02:16 AM
You're welcome, glad to be of help. Good luck with the installation once you get around to it