PDA

View Full Version : box for typeR



emd2260
05-16-2007, 09:09 PM
just ordered my SWR-1242D. need a box...going into an 01 taurus...max dimensions roughly 38"W 30"D and the height is iffy,
my trunk goes from around 22" toward the back, front? (closer to the bumper) and drops to around 17" in the middle and 13"ish by the rear seats, not too picky on SQ or SPL....

thanks to anyone who has time to reply



heres a picture if my explaining isnt quite up to par:fro:

bjfish11
05-16-2007, 09:36 PM
Are you wanting a box built, or just designed?

emd2260
05-16-2007, 09:47 PM
well, i guess whatever is cheapest hahaha:laugh:
i've never built a box or even installed a system before...but my dad is quite the craftsman so..i think we could manage building it ourselves, if it would be cheaper, what do you think?

bjfish11
05-16-2007, 09:53 PM
It would be a lot cheaper to build your own. Thats if you have the tools, time, and determination. It sounds like you will have the tools, and a knowledgeable person to help with the build, so I would go for it.

So if your looking for a design, hit up chris@fishercustoms.com. He can help you out.

emd2260
05-16-2007, 10:19 PM
thanks for the hookup BJ!

bjfish11
05-16-2007, 10:35 PM
Not a problem. Anytime.

Punk In Drublic
05-16-2007, 10:57 PM
Not to hijack the thread, but I'm thinking about getting rid of my POS setup really soon, and switching over to typeR's, and if someone could do a quick box for me, that's be awesome.

32 wide x 14-15 high x whatever deep, tuned to maybe 33-36, and obviously ported.

Also, if I get two 12" typeR's, at 500 RMS and 1500 peak, will I be able to power them with the generic 2000W amp I have right now? Atm it's powering two 12" dual 4 ohm audiobahns that run at 400 rms, 800 peak. Would I just be handicapping the typeR's if I ran them through this amp?

bjfish11
05-16-2007, 11:05 PM
Box wise... go around 2.5 per sub tuned around 33 or so. You should be pretty happy with it.

Punk In Drublic
05-16-2007, 11:16 PM
Alright do you know of any designs other dudes have drawn up for similar builds?

And what about that amp I mentioned? Could I use it with the typeR's?

hatemonger
05-16-2007, 11:19 PM
Alright do you know of any designs other dudes have drawn up for similar builds?

And what about that amp I mentioned? Could I use it with the typeR's?

what amp? brand and model.

Punk In Drublic
05-16-2007, 11:24 PM
what amp? brand and model.

Here's a link to the auction: http://cgi.ebay.com/2-AUDIOBAHN-AW1251T-12-SUBS-2000W-AMP-SUB-BOX-NEW_W0QQitemZ300103694355QQihZ020QQcategoryZ18803Q QrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://s14768.gridserver.com/mdamp.jpg

hatemonger
05-16-2007, 11:29 PM
never used it, but knowing bahn's rep., i bet it ***** bad.

Punk In Drublic
05-16-2007, 11:33 PM
It's not an audiobahn amp, but yeah, I'm pretty sure it *****.




OK! Now. What amp should I get to power two 12" typeRs?

We're talking like...300 absolute max here.

ugs92
05-17-2007, 12:59 AM
uhh no dont get that..if u on a budge get a hifonics 1606

hatemonger
05-17-2007, 01:05 AM
It's not an audiobahn amp, but yeah, I'm pretty sure it *****.




OK! Now. What amp should I get to power two 12" typeRs?

We're talking like...300 absolute max here.

ahh. misread your first post. you had bahn subs. above poster listed a good budget amp.

Punk In Drublic
05-17-2007, 10:53 PM
Would this box do well with those subs?

http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=32&Eh=13&Dia=6&Xmax=18.2&Vd=0.071+&NumW=2&Vb=3.7&Fb=33&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

Oh, and.. dumb question, but, which side of the box would the speakers be mounted to, red or yellow?

fwb_1234
05-18-2007, 12:28 AM
you can put a sub wherever, but most people would put it on the same side as the port and have the whole thing facing backwards. (red)

Punk In Drublic
05-18-2007, 11:39 AM
Alright, I just wasn't sure how wide that piece needed to be to allow for both speakers. I think I'm gonna pay Chris to design me a box specifically for these speakers.

Also, should I devide the box, and have each driver in it's own ported half of the box? Or does that just depend on if the amp is mono/stereo?

(Like this one)
http://i16.tinypic.com/4uyljpw.jpg

Punk In Drublic
05-19-2007, 06:21 PM
bump

joem1cha3l
05-19-2007, 08:14 PM
you totally hijacked this thread, to the point where your bumping it for a response to your response lol