PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse 5510/6610



dvrmstrng
05-15-2007, 07:49 PM
i am comparing the two on crutchfield and the only thing i see is the color screen on the 5510 vs the TFT color screen on 6610...

what are the other differences and is it worth the money to get the 6610?

dvrmstrng
05-16-2007, 01:03 AM
bump bump

shellshocked
05-16-2007, 07:41 PM
The guy at Circuit City told me the 5510 has one CD slot and one DVD slot. The 6610 has two DVD slots. So the 6610 can play a movie in one slot without removing the navigation DVD in the other slot. I must have been smoking crack at the time because the Eclipse website indicates they both have dual DVD - can anyone confirm?

GaresTaylan
05-16-2007, 11:04 PM
6610 has dual dvd, 5510 has 1 cd and 1 dvd

dvrmstrng
05-16-2007, 11:07 PM
so with the 5510 you couldnt do Navi and watch a dvd at the same time...just do navi and listen to music...6610 you could do navi and DVD...is that really all?

crutchfield.com when you compare the two says the 5510 has a "color display" and the 6610 has a "TFT color display"

whats the difference there?

shellshocked
05-16-2007, 11:31 PM
There is a nice review of the 5510 on cnet.com. According to the eclipse website, eclipse-web.com, the 6610 will support the Sirrius traffic module to give you realtime traffic information tied into the nav. The 6610 has the ability to support dual zone displays - so I guess you could put rear monitors in the headrest and play videos while you do navigation. I doubt there is any difference in the screen - they are both listed as 7" EGA on the spec sheet.

dvrmstrng
05-17-2007, 02:22 AM
alright awesome...i think for what i need im gonna stick with the 5510...i dont need realtime traffic updates...or should i...

GaresTaylan
05-17-2007, 02:32 AM
You can do navi and dvd with the 5510. When you take out the nav disk it goes into nav memory mode and remembers your route so you can play a DVD. If you want to access the nav info or plot a new route you have to reinsert the nav dvd.

dvrmstrng
05-17-2007, 02:55 PM
hmm alright...anyone know where you can get a good deal on a 5510 new?

shellshocked
05-17-2007, 07:11 PM
Ditto on where to buy a cheap new 5510? A few on ebay for just below $1100 (nobody I would trust). Sonicelectonix has it for $1179.

6spdcoupe
05-18-2007, 12:12 AM
hmm alright...anyone know where you can get a good deal on a 5510 new?

No clue ... :wow:

dvrmstrng
05-18-2007, 02:02 AM
Don i will call you tomorrow and we can chat...maybe you can pick up this time haha and we can chat

shellshocked
05-18-2007, 12:56 PM
Don - sent you PM last night.

Thanks