PDA

View Full Version : Someone wanna check this box design for me?....



Supergumby5000
05-12-2007, 05:09 PM
Just ordered some 8" Kicker CVR's to mess around with, and i want to learn how to do ported boxes correctly. This was my first go at it, so could someone check to see how close i am?

its supposed to be 1.2 cubes @ 34 hz, gross volume should be around 1.44 cubes
16" width x 12" heigh x 14.5" depth
port: 10.5"x1.5"=21" port area
Physical port length = 26.5"

also, the end of the port came out by the front side of the subwoofer. Ussually i see the end of the port as far away from the subwoofer as possible. will this cause anything i wouldnt want?

heres the box drawn up:

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/8694/1234jd0.jpg

Supergumby5000
05-12-2007, 05:22 PM
like so:

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/8091/2434ca5.jpg

Sythlord79
05-12-2007, 05:27 PM
Im no expert, but wont that cause a bigger delay having to pass thru those extra chambers in the port?

Supergumby5000
05-12-2007, 05:33 PM
ive seen a few boxes that are built with long long ports, so i dont htink there is an issue there. then again, unless there is some technique behind it or etiquette im not following hehe

im more concerned with if i did all my math right, and the port placement.

i know theres ton's of box guru's out there. give some input!

Mr Cabinetry
05-12-2007, 06:17 PM
Well, for the first design, just have the port turn the corner, follow along the back of the box since it's only 21" in length.

As for the second design, you can't just duplicate one half and flip it to the other side to create a common ported chamber like ya did because the port tuning for that design would be way off what your looking to tune it to.

The second design will work if you make each chamber separate by throwing a panel in the middle otherwise, you have to recalculate design #2 for the correct port length since now you have a large volume, thus, your enclosure size increases for the increase in port displacement.

BTW, what software is that you used?

mikey060
05-12-2007, 06:30 PM
http://www.rhino3d.com/

i use it all the time

Supergumby5000
05-13-2007, 12:40 AM
Bump! Thanks for the help about how combining them will mess stuff up

now, the last question: is my first box right hehe? could someone please check my math and make sure it actually came out the way its supposed to?

BrianChia
05-13-2007, 03:59 AM
You have to either separate the two chambers or recalculate the port volume/length. In which case (if you use one large chamber) it would be easier just to make a single port.