PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Great SQL

michaelsil1
05-10-2007, 01:52 PM
I'm new to Car Audio and I've made some expensive mistakes. I'm considering removing the rear speakers and Bi Amping the fronts with the Passive Crossover. I listen to Classical as well as Jazz and Country. Is this the right direction as far as learning the intricacies of fine tuning or just another waste of time and money? Sound Quality is the main objective.

Igno
05-10-2007, 02:13 PM
Active would give you more control than passive I believe, may be wrong sure the pros will chime in, I may be dumb here but how is biamping with the passive crossover going to give you more control? would you not have to have 2 crossovers per side?

DejaWiz
05-10-2007, 02:56 PM
Active would give you more control than passive I believe, may be wrong sure the pros will chime in, I may be dumb here but how is biamping with the passive crossover going to give you more control? would you not have to have 2 crossovers per side?

Nope, if the passive xovers for a given set are biampable, that means there are 2 inputs as well as 2 ouputs per mid+tweeter pair. 4 channels total would need to be utilized.

Although if the inkling is there, definitely go active.

michaelsil1
05-10-2007, 04:06 PM
The crossover is biampable, I don't believe I'm ready for active crossovers yet there's still a lot I don't know. I have a four channel Amp 4x150 is biamping the next step?

DejaWiz
05-10-2007, 04:34 PM
The crossover is biampable, I don't believe I'm ready for active crossovers yet there's still a lot I don't know. I have a four channel Amp 4x150 is biamping the next step?

I would. Just watch the gains unless you know for certain the comps (esp. the tweetwers) can take that much power.

If you click the gain setting link in my sig, there's an example of biamping comps.

Igno
05-10-2007, 05:17 PM
I would. Just watch the gains unless you know for certain the comps (esp. the tweetwers) can take that much power.