PDA

View Full Version : Box question.



lil azn 06
05-10-2007, 01:59 AM
I never though about this for a sealed box but if a sub was to require lets say 1FT^3 do i have to make it actually bigger than that to account for the volume of the subwoofer itself?



Also why cant i figure out these JL specs?

Formula Vd = Sd x Xmax

SD = 77.8 sq. in
Xmax = .65 in

Vd= 50.57 inches or .028 cu ft

But on JL's site they list 0.090 cu. ft. as the VD. Why?

http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_subs.php?series_id=4

Thanks

Immacomputer
05-10-2007, 08:07 AM
That's not how you find sub displacement for enclosure design. What you're finding is the volume of air that is displaced when the cone moves from its rest position to its one way xmax. That volume of air is what you're calculating. The .09 cubic feet is the volume of air that the entire sub is displacing inside the enclosure when it is as rest.

lil azn 06
05-10-2007, 11:18 AM
Ok thanks for the answer to the second question, but what about the first? I just asked the second question because it has always bothered me when it came to my 12w6v2.

Thanks

60ndown
05-10-2007, 11:27 AM
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_subs_enclusure.php?series_id=4

lil azn 06
05-10-2007, 11:35 AM
It's not for a 12w6 though =[ its for a TC 10 OEM

60ndown
05-10-2007, 11:40 AM
It's not for a 12w6 though =[ its for a TC 10 OEM

just get close and youll be good to bump

lil azn 06
05-10-2007, 02:57 PM
Thanks, but i still need this answered please


I never though about this for a sealed box but if a sub was to require lets say 1FT^3 do i have to make it actually bigger than that to account for the volume of the subwoofer itself?

The box requirement is .6 cubes and i estimated that the sub takes up .45 cubes of space within the box. So do i make a 1 cube box or just make a .6 cubed box.

Immacomputer
05-10-2007, 07:00 PM
Make it about .75 or .8 or so. You need to take into sub displacement but the TC OEM 10" will not take up .45 cubic feet of airspace.