PDA

View Full Version : Ports



Miller
02-13-2003, 08:44 PM
If I have a box (LxDxH) 29.5x15.5x16 (3.29 cubic feet total) and it has 3 3" cuts for ports...How long should my ports be to get the best spl bass? I have 2 10" Type-R subs..Thanks

nswartley
02-13-2003, 08:52 PM
how much power are you putting to them?

also...you cant always just cut out a sealed box and put ports in it...

Miller
02-13-2003, 09:10 PM
Im putting around 250 RMS to them......It was never a sealed box...I built it ported....any idea how to tune it to get some good spl and keep my sq

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 09:24 PM
That will give you right around a 34 hz tuning if that helps you......That is a good number..

Miller
02-13-2003, 09:30 PM
What will give me tuning of 34Hz.....I never mentioned a port length....What port length do you use to get around a 34 Hz or anything in that range to make my subs hit harder? Again...I have 3 3" cuts and PVC right now that is 13" long...However I can always shorten them if I have to. THanks

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 09:31 PM
I saw the 13" length in your other post. The 13" each port would give you a 34 hz tuning...

Miller
02-13-2003, 09:33 PM
Alright, Thanks alot. I'll just set them to that and keep the 13" ports. I have a subsonic filter that is set at 20 Hz, you think my subs are safe with that?? And last, can you tell me how I figure out how to tune a box, or how I can calculate the tuning of a box. Thanks

nswartley
02-13-2003, 09:34 PM
your subs should be fine with that filter....learn to use this for tuning www.linearteam.org/winisd.html

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 09:35 PM
Download WinISD Pro...and itll do it for ya...well...pretty much. Youll get the hang of it. You should be okay with that filter, as long as you dont feed the subs a butt load of power more than they want.. You may eventually want to get a higher filter though.. Watch your subs closely and make sure they dont bottom out.

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 09:36 PM
Beat me to it.....Prick :p :D Just kidding....LOL.

nswartley
02-13-2003, 09:36 PM
Originally posted by crhye250r
Beat me to it.....Prick :p :D Just kidding....LOL.

:p :p :p

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 09:37 PM
LOL...:(

Miller
02-13-2003, 09:45 PM
Alright Thanks....The only problem is that program doesnt have the Alpne Type-R's as one of the driver options....you guys know any sub similair to it, or how I can get the Type-r's as a driver?

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 09:47 PM
You can enter its parameters....Use your users manual for the sub...enter the parameters in the add drivers section...You should be good.. :D

Miller
02-13-2003, 09:53 PM
Alright....So final, you think those box dimensions and port diameters and lengths will be a good box. Any idea how much louder I should expect it to be from a small Q-Logic box (Had to get rid of that piece of ****)??

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 10:00 PM
I am not really that familiar w/ that driver...I have heard type Rs some though. I can tell you the ported is a far cry from sealed... You should be very pleased. :D

Miller
02-13-2003, 10:30 PM
That is very good to hear.....Hopefully I'll be bumping well in a few days. Thanks

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 10:44 PM
No problem man...Anytime.

nswartley
02-13-2003, 10:46 PM
No problem man...Anytime.


:p :p :p :p

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 11:07 PM
Alright...enough already...lol..:rolleyes:

nswartley
02-13-2003, 11:08 PM
Originally posted by crhye250r
Alright...enough already...lol..:rolleyes:

heh ok

____________________________END OF THREAD_________________________

crhye250r
02-13-2003, 11:48 PM
LOL..i was just playin man...Keep the thread rollin..LOL.