PDA

View Full Version : How do you cut circles using a router?



Fattony911
05-07-2007, 08:44 AM
I know what bit you use i just can't figure out, do you guys do it freehand or do you use a jig. Im sick of using the jigsaw now that i have this beast router. Plz help :yumyum:

01xtreme
05-07-2007, 09:01 AM
for perfect circles you have to use a jig. If you dont want to buy one you can always make one yourself. I have seen numerous threads where people make their own on here.

WantedIsHere
05-07-2007, 09:12 AM
a jig of course.... the standard is perty much the jasper jog. each one can be had for about 25-35 and most people buy two to cover all sizes needed to be cut...

bjfish11
05-07-2007, 09:39 AM
Jasper jig FTW

djman37
05-07-2007, 09:40 AM
jasper and spiral up-cut bit > all.

parts express had a two jasper combo sale recently.

Fattony911
05-07-2007, 10:31 AM
awesome thanks guys!

Immacomputer
05-07-2007, 09:51 PM
Spiral upcut bits work great. If you don't want to buy a jig, you can make one out of 1/4" MDF or masonite really cheap and it can be just as nice.

Here is a picture of one I made that will last a long time:
http://i12.tinypic.com/4m7aauh.jpg
http://i13.tinypic.com/6co3bep.jpg

Puppet Master
05-07-2007, 10:59 PM
Throw a Jasper Jig on that *****!

ebrunn
05-07-2007, 11:07 PM
Its worth it to buy a Jasper Jig even in you do one box a year. The thing pays for its self in the time it saves you.