PDA

View Full Version : germs sound like crap HELP!!!!

zx6r2002
05-05-2007, 12:14 AM
I just got my germs the other day and installed them in my 04 titan. i used the sound deadening in the doors inner and outer skins and put the foam stuff behind the speaker. i have a zx650.4 runnin the comps. its biamped. and i didnt adjust the crossovers, i hooked it up just like it came out the box. and my stock 6x9s sounded better. there is very little bass. the speakers movin but it just sounds like CRAP. whats wrong with them??? and im kinda new to the installin

konechiwa
05-05-2007, 12:19 AM
uhm, are they wired out of phase (polarity is switched)? Is the EQ all funky? Do you have a weird filter on your amp? (i.e. like 500hz or something insanely high?)

Check to make sure it isn't out of phase first. Or flip it.

zx6r2002
05-05-2007, 12:26 AM
i just have it wired to the amp. no filter on the amp. im pretty sure i wired them in the right polarity. should i switch them anyways and c what happens

funkyab
05-05-2007, 12:33 AM
A little GENTLE trial and error could never hurt!!!!!!!

konechiwa
05-05-2007, 12:38 AM
i just have it wired to the amp. no filter on the amp. im pretty sure i wired them in the right polarity. should i switch them anyways and c what happens

Well when i was doing my rear fill i didn't know which wire was positive and which was negative.

needless to say they sounded exactly as you described them. I flipped the wires around, and BAM they sounded x10 times better.

funkyab
05-05-2007, 01:03 AM
YES YES!!! Being GENTLE and doing soft trial and error can let you become almost as close to your equipment as a mother may become to her child.....

Of course being a bit sarcastic... but really. When testing everything, start small and listen to everything! No matter how small work with it and build up!