PDA

View Full Version : quick question about port speed ...



savagebee
04-27-2007, 12:43 AM
Im in the process of my enclosure build.. should be an easy question...

8.4 cubes net,

2 drivers (18", ed 19ov.2s) on about 1500 watts...

Ive got room for 2 4" aeros or one 6" aero....

for a tuning of 32, Id need a single 6" aero to be 5.5" long, for 2 4" aeros, id need then to be 6" long...

will the 6" port give me any problems being that short? should I use the dual 4"s?

I always use slot ports, so the aeros ar enew to me.. Im a little leary of them I guess lol

any help is appreciated

also, where on psp's website does it give the actual cutout diameter of the ports? thats important, space is kind of important here, I may have some clearance issues with the 6" port....

baseballer1100
04-27-2007, 12:44 AM
Shouldnt. But i could be wrong.

Immacomputer
04-27-2007, 01:22 AM
I would run way more port than just a single 6" or dual 4" ports. I would do at least two 6" ports if you could.

savagebee
04-27-2007, 01:36 AM
why do you say that? ^

just a gut feeling?

Like I said, Im new to aeros, so I dont know how much they differ in implementation...

I could fit 2 6"s, but they would be a little low on the box... (firing forwards.. in a wall... they are behind my second row of seats, so they would be firing about 8" away from the back seat... would that be an issue as well?)

thanks for the input

Immacomputer
04-27-2007, 01:24 PM
Because you're going to get a ton of port noise with only 28in^2 of port area in an 8 cubic foot enclosure with 2 18s. That's just all there is to it.

savagebee
04-28-2007, 02:00 AM
okay.. sorry, wasnt thinking to clearly about it, thanks for the not-******* response to a stupid question lol