PDA

View Full Version : question on subs



maxxguy1
04-26-2007, 11:55 PM
I know this is a realy dumb question but don't flame just need the answer how do you find the square inches of a square sub

Immacomputer
04-26-2007, 11:58 PM
Find the Sd in the T/S parameters posted by Kicker.

Unless you're talking about for port area for an enclosure.

maxxguy1
04-27-2007, 12:06 AM
for the port i want to build a spl enclosure for 2 of the l7 15" I want the port the same size as the subs spaure inches

oglejust
04-27-2007, 12:39 AM
a 15in square sub has 225 sq inches of surface area. but y would u wanna go w/ such a big port

Immacomputer
04-27-2007, 12:52 AM
for the port i want to build a spl enclosure for 2 of the l7 15" I want the port the same size as the subs spaure inches

You actually don't want the port to be have the same cross sectional area as the subs. Having too much port area can actually hurt SPL.

oglejust
04-27-2007, 01:00 AM
^^^ thats y i asked y he would want a port that big.... i wouldnt go much over 100 sqin of port.

maxxguy1
04-27-2007, 04:05 AM
Are you talking about 100 per sub because they have 200 on both of them right now and its only at 149.1 on term they need to get louder they have enough power on them to. I need them louder I want that 150 or more.