PDA

View Full Version : Difference between fixed base and plunge base routers?

Anonymous
04-26-2007, 09:16 PM
I am looking to use the router to round off the edges of the box and the port. I will also be using it with a circle jig to cut holes so which router would i need to do this? I know it is a dumb question but i am new to routers and box building in general. Also what kind of bit do i need to round the edges for a smooth finish?

fwb_1234
04-26-2007, 09:34 PM
either will work, but a plunge would be easier because you can aim the router then just plot it down.
3/8" round over bit.

James Bang
04-26-2007, 10:05 PM
I would choose a plunge router for adjusting purposes. The size of it is up to you. 3/8" as said above is great for the port pieces, since 3/8" + 3/8" = 3/4"

If you're rounding over a sealed box, the size of the roundover bit is up to you, depending how round you'd like that ***.

For ported boxes, I like to use 1/2" inside the mouth of the port and 1/4" on the edges of the box.

oglejust
04-26-2007, 11:54 PM
plunge router FTW!

baseballer1100
04-27-2007, 01:38 AM
You can use either one but imo the plunge is easier for circles. Fixed based for everything else. If your looking to buy Get the combo pack from bosch i believe its the 1617evs. Amazing and a great price. Get either a 1/4 straight cut or spiral upcut bit.

Anonymous
04-27-2007, 02:13 PM
yeah the problem is that home depot around here does not carry Bosch routers. I have a combo pack from Ridgid Model #R2900 but I just ordered a Jasper circle jig and it did not mention anything about Ridgid routers being compatible, as a matter of fact the only thing that they carried that was mentioned for the jasper jig was some Ryobi and it was not a combo pack, and a rather cheap looking router. And i have to get my **** from home depot because the money is on a home depot gift card. So does anyone know if the Ridgid I have will work with the Jasper Jig or am i screwed because i already ordered the jig?