PDA

View Full Version : Passive & Active



the727kid
04-25-2007, 06:31 PM
Alright trying to figure things out before I buy the horns. Would it be possible to run my Germs passive off channels 1 & 2 and then run the horns active on channels 3 & 4? I will be getting my hands on a nice EQ/xover as well :).

helotaxi
04-25-2007, 08:19 PM
Why? You have each driver on its own channel. Run it all active.

ngsm13
04-25-2007, 08:26 PM
See the sticky at the top of this forum?!?!?!?!?!?!

nG

the727kid
04-25-2007, 09:56 PM
I only have 4 channels, so I couldn't run run 6 speakers on 4 channels.

ngsm13
04-25-2007, 09:59 PM
I only have 4 channels, so I couldn't run run 6 speakers on 4 channels.

Yes, yes you could.

The tweeters on channel 1&2, and 2 mids per channel on channels 3&4.

:fyi:

nG

alphakenny1
04-25-2007, 10:20 PM
Yes, yes you could.

The tweeters on channel 1&2, and 2 mids per channel on channels 3&4.

:fyi:

nG

i think what he's trying to get at is, run the germs passive off channels 1/2 and then run channels 3/4 to horns.

technically that would work but whats the point of running the germ tweeters and horns? i'd just use one set of highs.

the727kid
04-25-2007, 10:20 PM
Wheres that leave the horns? And the point of hte tweets is to bring up the soundstage a little, plus if I remove them I will have big *** holes in my tripod thing lol.

ngsm13
04-25-2007, 10:30 PM
i think what he's trying to get at is, run the germs passive off channels 1/2 and then run channels 3/4 to horns.

technically that would work but whats the point of running the germ tweeters and horns? i'd just use one set of highs.

Oh, he's running the tweeters as well?

I was talking ACTIVE, with 4 mids total... and 2horns.

Active:
Channels 1&2: 8ohm Horn per channel
Channels 3&4: 2mids per channel, presenting 2ohm load to each channel.

nG

helotaxi
04-25-2007, 11:07 PM
If you use the crossovers that came with the Germs, you'll have a lot of overlap in freqs between the horns and the tweets. Result is a ton of cancellation and a ragged frequency response.

the727kid
04-25-2007, 11:16 PM
What if I set the xover points of the tweets and horns the same?


Eh I'll probally just unhook the tweets and leave them in the car.

BlackMaxima
04-26-2007, 12:01 AM
i think what he's trying to get at is, run the germs passive off channels 1/2 and then run channels 3/4 to horns.

technically that would work but whats the point of running the germ tweeters and horns? i'd just use one set of highs.



X2 i dont get it
you want more highs??
the Cal25 is not loud for you?

its a waist.

go with the Cal25's
or
go with the horns

not both. that makes no sanse

helotaxi
04-26-2007, 12:08 AM
What if I set the xover points of the tweets and horns the same?

Yeah, that's exactly what would cause the problem.

the727kid
04-26-2007, 12:46 AM
Iight I will just unplug em and leave em there lol.


And yes they aren't loud enough any more.