PDA

View Full Version : 4channel REQUIRED for active?



Twistid
04-20-2007, 09:36 AM
i only have a 2chan, which should arrive today via ups, im being told now that its better that i go active... if im going to upgrade headunit that supports active i dont also want to buy a 4chan

jmanpc
04-20-2007, 09:40 AM
if you want to run the mids and highs seperately without using a passive xover, yes, a 4-channel is necessary.

bass_lover1
04-20-2007, 10:23 AM
i only have a 2chan, which should arrive today via ups, im being told now that its better that i go active... if im going to upgrade headunit that supports active i dont also want to buy a 4chan


Yep, each speaker needs it's own channel of amplification. Buy a second matching 2 channel and call it a day.

Twistid
04-20-2007, 10:24 AM
im just going to go passive, ive spent to much already , cheaper to buy some new crossovers than spending money on a active headunit + new amp

helotaxi
04-20-2007, 12:44 PM
If you get the right amp or a standalone crossover, there's no need to buy a new HU. How do you think things were done before there was any processing built into the HU?

Alpineinstaller
04-20-2007, 06:03 PM
:word: