PDA

View Full Version : New car, new speaker problem

tigerf117
04-18-2007, 01:32 PM
Im getting a rebuilt 88 supra targa 7m-gte next week and the first thing I'm gong to do is upgrade the system. Right now I have a deh-p6800 (06model) HU, and a set of JBL Power P652 for now. The stock speakers sizes are 4" and 5" rear (5 1/4 fit in there tho). I'd prefer to use these JBLs for a little while longer as my rear fill, however there are only 4" fronts. Im not experienced, nor do I have the money, to build custom kickpanels. Basically I'm dead set on getting the PRS, from everything I read im looking at a $200-250 component set that will blow everyone I know's system out of the water. I saw some Mb Quart 4" components for $150ish on sonic electronics, and I could put the 6 1/2 PRS in the rear, but I know how you guys are about staging and rear fill.
Im just not sure what to do basically. Im on a little bit on a limited budget as far as these speakers go. My other idea was get those MB quart 4" comp, get some 5 1/4 midbass drivers for the rear doors, and have the PRS mounted in the rear (all amped) so those 5 1/4s could fill in a little more mid where the 4" would lack. Im open to suggestions, but mainly I just want to buy those PRS (by the way I have up to 140w rms that would be able to run to each PRS). Or possibly get the 5 1/4 PRS for the rear doors? I want a system loud enough to honk my horn and not hear it. I listen to mostly rock/metal (Tool, Primus, NIN, Chimaira, Pantera, slipknot) with some classical, jam bands (mainly Keller williams) and different world music. Also, I'm not exactly sure about the midbass driver as far as setting it up, would I need a seperate 2ch to driver them, and what about RCAs and crossovers, sorry for the noobness question, and the book I wrote. Im prob getting a 10w7 and this MB Quart amp that'll push around 400-500RMS to the 10".

DejaWiz
04-18-2007, 03:10 PM
I'll keep this short, sweet, and to the point: